Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Am I being picky?

    This is a discussion on Am I being picky? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 8191 kbps 796 kbps Line Attenuation 37.5 db 23.0 db Noise Margin 2.8 db ...

    1. #1
      seasider's Avatar
      seasider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trentside
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Am I being picky?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8191 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.5 db 23.0 db
      Noise Margin 2.8 db 12.0 db


      I find my connection very frustrating. It's up and down like a *****'s drawers at times and i feel i'm always having to reboot the modem. Pages are slow to load and sometimes don't at all.
      i'm on the top package.

      The above stats are how i normally run.

      Master socket below after 2 minutes

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8191 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.0 db 23.1 db
      Noise Margin 11.6 db 12.5 db

      Am i being fussy?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Am I being picky?

      The first set if stats have a lot of noise which is why the noise margin is so low.

      The second set is much better so it looks like internal wiring issues. If you can keep the router in the second location you may even get 12mb with a stable line.

      It would be worth inversting in a filtered faceplate and putting the router at the master.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Am I being picky?

      Looks like it is capped, DLM has found noise on the line, try from the Test socket to get a true reflection of the speed you should get. 12-13 should be attainable.

      As Smithy says, a filtered faceplate would be a great benefit.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      seasider's Avatar
      seasider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trentside
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I being picky?

      Okay thanks, which faceplace should I buy and are they easy to fit?

      The second stats i posted were the master socket. My router is on that socket but obviously not into the master socket.

      Just a dumb question, should i have a filter on each phone socket even if there's no phone or equipment on it?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Am I being picky?

      XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation is very good and easily fitted.

      You should have filters on everything plugged into the phone line, including Digiboxes. When you fit a filtered faceplate none are required.

      Check your line box is suitable for a faceplate, see the link for Test Socket below.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION