Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 33

    Recurring problem of slow speeds.

    This is a discussion on Recurring problem of slow speeds. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I plugged it directly into the test socket again without the extension: ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 1792 kbps ...

    1. #11
      saka-rauka1's Avatar
      saka-rauka1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recurring problem of slow speeds.

      I plugged it directly into the test socket again without the extension:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1792 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 30.5 db
      Noise Margin 13.3 db 14.0 db

      Speed still the same but noise margin is much higher. Seems to me that the extension is a problem but not the only one.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Recurring problem of slow speeds.

      OK, now you can phone, they should be able to almost double your speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      saka-rauka1's Avatar
      saka-rauka1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recurring problem of slow speeds.

      Should I get another extension? I can't keep it in the test socket forever. Seems necessary however this is the 3rd one I've been through. Is that normal?
      Last edited by saka-rauka1; 04-03-09 at 10:10 PM. Reason: k

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Recurring problem of slow speeds.

      What you will have to do is get a filtered faceplate, fit it and plug the router directly into it. You can do this by using the supplied RJ11 cable with a long ethernet cable(yellow cable provided) to your PC. This is fine if you have only one PC. If you have more than one then you have three options. 1. Use a longer ethernet cable with a 4 port switch on the end.
      2. Replace the supplied RJ11 cable with a good quality longer one, up to 15Ms will show very little if any drop. You can then place the router where you want it.
      3. Use a Homeplug Network to distribute throughout your house.
      The last although most expensive is probably the best as it will give you a broadband connection anywhere you have a power plug. In all cases you must fit a filtered faceplate and plug the router into it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      saka-rauka1's Avatar
      saka-rauka1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recurring problem of slow speeds.

      Okay this is what happened:

      I removed the router from it location next to the socket and plugged in everything normally because I knew they would ask if all the lights were on or not and if I were to plug it into the test socket, then the ethernet cable wouldn't be attached to anything.

      So there is no change in speed, I call them and they ask me to turn off my wireless comp and go to the wired one. I remove the network card from my comp so it can no longer connect and then follow his instructions: restart the router, type cmd, then type netstats and then count the number of TCPs. There were 20. He says there should be less than 10. I check the router stats and see that the speed is now 3264.

      Not the 4608 it used to be but its good enough for me. He says that I should run a virus scan and that that would reduce the number of connections and improve the speed. I hang up and then put the network card back in on my wireless, the speed is now 1504.

      What just happened?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Recurring problem of slow speeds.

      type cmd, then type netstats and then count the number of TCPs
      Did he tell you to close down your browsers and email clients? If not, he was giving you duff information. Did he even tell you what to do about having (supposedly) too many connections? Have you run a virus scan? He should actually have advised you to scan for adware and trojans. If you haven't done so you should download and run Malwarebytes You will probably not find anything which would slow down your connection, but it is worth doing anyway.


      The reason your speed went up then down again is almost certainly due to your extension picking up interference. The only way you will fix this is by doing one of the suggestions in my previous post. There is nothing Sky can do if there is noise on your internal wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      saka-rauka1's Avatar
      saka-rauka1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recurring problem of slow speeds.

      When I removed the extension there was no increase at all, so why would there be a problem with it? The speed after the call was 3264 and as soon as I plugged in my network card it dropped. I would say that's where the problem is. I ran a virus scan on my system and there was nothing found. I have yet to do so for the other pc however. And of course I need to run spyware/adware scans too.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Recurring problem of slow speeds.

      When I removed the extension there was no increase at all
      There would not be if your connection is capped.

      The speed after the call was 3264 and as soon as I plugged in my network card it dropped.
      Are you talking about download speed or Sync speed? If it is the former then that is quite normal with wireless. If it is the latter, then I have no explanation, it does not seem possible that an adapter can reduce your sync speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      saka-rauka1's Avatar
      saka-rauka1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recurring problem of slow speeds.

      Sync speed.

      Also this problem has grown out of control now:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 160 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 5.7 db 14.0 db

      I might as well not have an internet connection at this rate.

      EDIT: What is this DLM I keep hearing about, could that be the problem?

    11. #20
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Recurring problem of slow speeds.

      Are these stats from the test spcket? if not you need to get them from there, also have you tried another filter?

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION