Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Migrated but very slow...

    This is a discussion on Migrated but very slow... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone, I migrated from ADSL24 across to the Sky Max package Monday but I've been having a few problems ...

    1. #1
      Breogan's Avatar
      Breogan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanelli
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Migrated but very slow...

      Hi everyone,

      I migrated from ADSL24 across to the Sky Max package Monday but I've been having a few problems with the speed. All was well and I was initially connected at 3000kbps, but every day the connection has dropped until now I'm at 762kbps and I have a horrible feeling its going to drop again tonight. The noise margin has never been this low in the evening and always hovered just under 7.0db.

      With ADSL24 I was on a connection between 2000 and 2500kbps using a Speedtouch 586 router. I understand theres the DLM issue to take into account but the drop in speed does seem a little excessive.

      Currently my stats look like this...
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 761 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60.5 db 37.0 db
      Noise Margin 5.4 db 10.5 db

      On ADSL 24 the day before the migration (same time of day as above) they were...
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2250kbps 448kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0db 31.0db
      Noise Margin 7.5db 17.0db

      Due to having issues with BT in the past with the line I had already removed all the line extensions so its now only the master socket with an ADSLnation XTE face plate and a shielded DSL cable.

      Is this drop normal or is something amiss? Should I wait the remainder of the 10 days for the DLM to do its thing or should I call Sky tech support?

      Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrated but very slow...

      yeah wait until thursday i'd say unless your really desparate for speed phone sky and they should tweak your speed you should be looking at near 3mb on your line

    4. #3
      Breogan's Avatar
      Breogan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanelli
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrated but very slow...

      Thanks. Will do. Just concerned that the connection is dropping to speeds its never been before and steadily seems to be going slower daily.

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Migrated but very slow...

      DLM will be hunting around flooking for the best compromise between speed and stability.

      It can take longer than 10 days 3-4 weeks in some cases.

    6. #5
      Breogan's Avatar
      Breogan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanelli
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrated but very slow...

      So is it best just to wait for the first 10 days, then put a call in to complain about the speed? At this rate I wont have a usable internet connection at all by Thursday, let alone 3-4 weeks time.

      This mornings stats...
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 510 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60.5 db 37.0 db
      Noise Margin 5.3 db 10.5 db
      Last edited by Breogan; 28-02-09 at 10:45 AM.

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Migrated but very slow...

      DLM may increase the speed once it sees that it is stable. Can you remove the faceplate and get the stats again from the test socket, just in case there is somethng wrong with the filter one.

      Your noise margin is very low, if it does not improve, I don't think your speeds will.

      It might also be worth trying the Speedtouch router if you still have it. I don't think you need the user and pass for Sky just to get the stats off it, there is a chance that the Sky router has a problem.

    8. #7
      Breogan's Avatar
      Breogan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanelli
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrated but very slow...

      Heres the stats from the Sky router plugged in to the master socket without the faceplate :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 508 kbps 542 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.0 db 37.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.3 db 9.0 db

      Heres the stats from the Speedtouch :

      Uptime: 0 days, 0:01:39
      Modulation: G.992.3 Annex A
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 528 / 510
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/KB]: 0.00 / 0.00
      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 0.5
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 37.0 / 60.5
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 9.5 / 22.0
      Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / GSPN

      The difference in margin is huge so perhaps the router is faulty however I'm a bit worried that the output power down is fluctuating between 10.5 and 0 (edit : now 26 and 0.5). Is this normal?

      Incidentally I managed to get my username/password off the Sky router so this works with the Speedtouch but not sure what impact this will have on the end speed or Sky.
      Last edited by Breogan; 28-02-09 at 12:18 PM. Reason: Transfer rate is now jumping between 0.5 and 26

    9. #8
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrated but very slow...

      Quote Originally Posted by Breogan View Post
      Heres the stats from the Sky router plugged in to the master socket without the faceplate :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 508 kbps 542 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61.0 db 37.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.3 db 9.0 db

      Heres the stats from the Speedtouch :

      Uptime: 0 days, 0:01:39
      Modulation: G.992.3 Annex A
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 528 / 510
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [KB/KB]: 0.00 / 0.00
      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 0.5
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 37.0 / 60.5
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 9.5 / 22.0
      Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / GSPN

      The difference in margin is huge so perhaps the router is faulty however I'm a bit worried that the output power down is fluctuating between 10.5 and 0 (edit : now 26 and 0.5). Is this normal?

      Incidentally I managed to get my username/password off the Sky router so this works with the Speedtouch but not sure what impact this will have on the end speed or Sky.
      sky say you cant use your own router.... just dont go and phone them with the speedtouch plugged in LOL

      faulty router then mate... phone sky A.S.A.P and say you have a faulty router say that you plugged in another sky router and it said your noise margin was 22db ... they should see there is a problem because a line attenution of 60.5 should get you 3Mb! not 512Kb LOL!

      just dont say that you used a non sky router or you might get in trouble!

      because the speedtouch modem suggests your heavily capped

    10. #9
      Breogan's Avatar
      Breogan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanelli
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Migrated but very slow...

      Well I phoned and explained the router was giving me grief but the moment I mentioned testing using another Sky router I got "Well you shouldnt have done that..." and "That doesnt prove anything...", but after 3 attempts at getting through to a human being I got passed onto customer resolve and onto a guy that fiddled a bit with the line.

      Seems DLM is causing no ends of problems and its now been turned off on my line. The support guy ran some tests on the line with me and monitored it as I performed some downloads and video streaming. He finally capped my line at 2500kbps to which I was happy with. This instantly pushed my SNR back up to what it should have been, although I'm a bit confused as to why the speedtouch did this without them fiddling with the line stats.

      Unfortunately, a power cut 15 minutes later and one rebooted router and my connection is for some reason at 1568kbps. I tried calling Sky again but I got a nice but slightly dim rep that didnt seem to understand DLM was turned off (even with giving her the ticket number), so I'm going to try again tomorrow.

      Wish me luck!

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Migrated but very slow...

      You would be better phoning now, the later it is the more chance you have of getting through to CST without fist hitting the first line support.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION