Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Help With Sky BB MAX

    This is a discussion on Help With Sky BB MAX within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi there,, iv had a very unreliable connection for the past 2 days now on skys MAX broadband package.. i ...

    1. #1
      faizdon08's Avatar
      faizdon08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121748
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down Help With Sky BB MAX

      hi there,, iv had a very unreliable connection for the past 2 days now on skys MAX broadband package.. i have rang them twice in the past 2 days yeserday i was told he would speed it up as i complained about both the speed and the reliability. he also asked me to remove the front(face plate) from my main/master socket. i did so and it made little difference. The guy on the phone messed around with something for about 45 minutes whilst i was on the phone and the connection settled down a little...
      However, this morning i turned my pc on again along with my router, (i dont keep either on over night) and my connection is both slow and unreliable,, Sky are saying that i have a 4MB connection, however it feels 100% slower than 4mb. my computer was built by myself and is 100% up to date, this problem is not on the pc as i have had the same problems with a laptop using the wireless feature of my sagem router

      I rang again today and my internet was slowed down more , yet i cannot access some websites and if i can they take ages to connect. I am recieving some broadband from sky but either very slow or conects/disconnects continuously.
      Are Sky in breach of contract? and do i have something to complain about? as when i ring up,, they cant see what my problem is?

      Thanks alot.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      Post your stats from the test socket, (Downstream, upstream speeds and SNR and attenuation levels) and a comparrison set from your main socket. Also have you checked with ethernet to make sure its not just a channel issue on the wireless impacting speeds?

    4. #3
      faizdon08's Avatar
      faizdon08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121748
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4092 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5 db 33.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.0 db 11.0 db

      Im using the computer via ethernet and a friends laptop was used to test it via wireless,, Its not really the speed im bothered about much,, its the disconnections,,, im sure if it didnt keep disconnecting i would get the full 4mbs but i dont.

    5. #4
      faizdon08's Avatar
      faizdon08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121748
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4092 kbps 608 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5 db 33.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.0 db 11.0 db


      Thats the test socket, There is no difference with the faceplate on or off.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      you're capped, but not a lot...prob get 5-6Mbps uncapped...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      faizdon08's Avatar
      faizdon08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121748
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 62987 79452 0 217 304 4:30:22
      LAN 21065 16705 0 0 0 4:31:45
      WLAN 63343 50126 0 454 216 4:31:18
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4093 kbps 496 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 db 33.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.0 db 11.0 db


      Got Online today, but nearly everypage loads with errors, some webpages dont load and need refreshing and the router resetting every so often,..
      I need to know if Sky have breached my contract... as i have a disrupted service.

      This is the 3rd day of it now and to be perfectly honest its getting beyond a joke.
      Seriously considering canceling....
      Last edited by faizdon08; 27-02-09 at 01:59 PM.

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      A disrupted service is not a breach of contract, this is a home service with no SLA, no service might be although we don't know what the fault is and it may actually be something at your end, if it was everyone then there would be lot's more people complaining on here.

      You need to check what the router is doing when the connection drops, does the internet light flash or go out? Are you connected by ethernet? if not you need to try it to rule out a wireless problem which are common.

    9. #8
      faizdon08's Avatar
      faizdon08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121748
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      iv tried everything,,,, Sky keep blaming BT's copper lines, BT blame sky, Im using ethernet and when my broadband connection "drops" the green internet(@) light on the front of the router turns either orange or dissappears completly. Iv tested it by using a friends laptop and connecting wirelessly,,,,, I know it sounds mad, but it seems like there isnt enough internet to load the page,,, as all the java/flash/video's etc on each website fail to load.
      Im currently connected direct to the test socket as sky told me to do this and "monitor" my internet,, note when it disconnects etc and ring them if there is anymore problems.

      This is not a computer problem, I use windows vista and have reinstalled since the problem started and currently using a brand new ethernet port. I also used the basic windows drivers for the ethernet port and the latest from the VIA website.

      Please help...

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      you're kicking up this much of a fuss for 3 days dodgy internet?? obviously don't have any patience...

      it can take weeks to collect enough information for Sky to have something to go to BT with - you've got a while yet before it's sorted...

      unless it's a dodgy router, of course...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      What does the router log show?

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION