Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Help With Sky BB MAX

    This is a discussion on Help With Sky BB MAX within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It just seems to be problem after problem with Sky at the moment,, my TV was messed up for a ...

    1. #11
      faizdon08's Avatar
      faizdon08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121748
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      It just seems to be problem after problem with Sky at the moment,, my TV was messed up for a few days until they sorted that out, My phone was off all day on the day my Sky talk was activated which Sky said was unusual and now the internet is on its last legs.

      Im only making a fuss about it as Sky are refusing to do anything,, just saying its a BT problem. BT done all sorts of tests on my line and told me i should be recieving around 6.1MB and i had no problem when i was on BT broadband except the price. I dont know what to do next as it seems Sky arnt prepared to rectify any problem.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      There is nothing obvious in your stats that would point to a bad line. You have a good high noise margin, albeit with a capped sync speed. One thing that could cause a disconnection is a sudden high noise spike, this is very difficult to detect without access to the routers full stats, which are not available with your router. You could however, have a look at the router's log, see if there is a clue there.
      It is possible your problems are being caused by nothing more than engineers working near your line, either at the exchange or on the external line to it. Once again very difficult to pin down if you don't have access to the engineers work schedule.
      The other cause could be a faulty modem, either the one in your router or the one in the exchange. Trying another router could rule out the former, if you have a friend who can lend you one to try. A Sky one preferably.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      faizdon08's Avatar
      faizdon08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121748
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      there is absolutly nothing on the log on the router... is this usual?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      I am not familiar with the Sagem, but in the Netgear you have to tick boxes for what you want recorded. Do you have boxes labelled "Router operation (start up, get time etc)" etc?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      faizdon08's Avatar
      faizdon08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121748
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      Feb 27 14:30:34 (none) user.alert kernel: Intrusion -> IN=ppp_0_38_1 OUT= MAC= SRC=90.220.77.243 DST=90.220.81.154 LEN=52 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=59 ID=38865 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=24374 DPT=139 WINDOW=60352 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0

      Feb 27 14:32:22 (none) user.alert kernel: Intrusion -> IN=ppp_0_38_1 OUT= MAC= SRC=217.65.0.24 DST=90.220.81.154 LEN=48 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=117 ID=50100 PROTO=TCP SPT=34516 DPT=22 WINDOW=65535 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0

      Feb 27 14:41:47 (none) user.alert kernel: Intrusion -> IN=ppp_0_38_1 OUT= MAC= SRC=90.220.77.243 DST=90.220.81.154 LEN=52 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=59 ID=10637 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=47318 DPT=135 WINDOW=60352 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0

      Feb 27 14:41:47 (none) user.alert kernel: Intrusion -> IN=ppp_0_38_1 OUT= MAC= SRC=90.220.77.243 DST=90.220.81.154 LEN=52 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=59 ID=10660 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=47337 DPT=135 WINDOW=60352 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0

      Feb 27 14:45:36 (none) user.crit kernel: ADSL link down

      Feb 27 14:45:37 (none) daemon.crit pppd[1783]: Clear IP addresses. Connection DOWN.

      Feb 27 14:45:37 (none) daemon.crit pppd[1783]: Clear IP addresses. PPP connection DOWN.

      Feb 27 14:45:37 (none) user.crit kernel: ADSL G.994 training

      Feb 27 14:45:42 (none) user.crit kernel: ADSL G.992 started

      Feb 27 14:45:47 (none) user.crit kernel: ADSL G.992 channel analysis



      If this is anyhelp...... can you tell anything from this?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      The first part of your log shows that your router is being probed from external sources. This is nothing to worry about as the router is doing it's job and preventing any intrusion. What is a little disconcerting, if I am correct, is that some of the probes seem to be originating from a Sky address, 90.220.77.243 to be specific. These type of probes can usually be traced back to foreign addresses like the 217.65.0.24 one which is Russian.

      I am afraid the rest does not mean much to me except that your connection is going down, it should however mean something to a trained professional. It may be worth copying this to a KANA form and sending it in to Sky. You never know it may get to someone who knows how to read logs.

      I know you have probably tried it, but have you tried changing the ADSL flter?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      faizdon08's Avatar
      faizdon08 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121748
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      Just been on the phone,,, they have changed some sort of "protection" up to the roof, they have downgraded me by another meg so now im on 3MB ,, it was meant to be 6.1mb. They are calling me back at 8PM UK time to see how it goes, otherwise they are going to escalate it to engineers as iv been speaking to "tier 3 techncians".
      Iv took the faceplate off, reset the sagem router countless times, i h ave tried 3 different microfilters. i have reinstalled windows vista . tried a different ethernet port... and still nothing.

    9. #18
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      Seems strange that they haven't sent a replacement router yet, some people end up with three for a fault that doesn;t exist

    10. #19
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      Thats quite strange.

      The Mac Source destination is the same all time which i'm guessing is possibly the Sky Server? So I'm guessing the first part is just the routers Firewall blocking possible intrusions? The "217.65.0.24" Possibly being a Dns that has been set.

      Other than that the connection just dropped and came back up again as if the router was rebooted.

      Are there any Errors on your line? Can you see any errors on your router stats?

      Could be the Adsl Cable.

      Do you have a Spare one from an old Adsl Provider or get a Friend to lend you one?
      Adsl cable could be causing noise spikes and errors if its been damaged (one of the cables being damaged when plugging it into the filter etc..)

    11. #20
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help With Sky BB MAX

      Quote Originally Posted by faizdon08 View Post
      Just been on the phone,,, they have changed some sort of "protection"
      The INP (Impulse Noise Protection). Could help slightly, especially if there are sudden noise spikes...

      Keep an eye on the connection.
      Let us know what Tech Say.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION