Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
    Results 41 to 45 of 45

    Dlm?

    This is a discussion on Dlm? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; MTU can, what did you have it at before? Sky is set to 1500....

    1. #41
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Dlm?

      MTU can, what did you have it at before? Sky is set to 1500.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Dlm?

      Making it pingable will make no difference, but having the wrong MTU set certainly will. You could uncheck the Ping setting and it will make no difference now. Being pingable it is a slight security risk as it lets others know that there is 'someone in'.

      Lets hope your troubles are over and you can start enjoying your internet again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #43
      Shadowhunta's Avatar
      Shadowhunta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01420
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dlm?

      Well it seems to be back to poor download speeds again...i dunno whats going on...the line speed keeps changing to, it was at 14000 just a minute ago, i rebooted and got this speed:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15660 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27 db 6.5 db
      Noise Margin 5 db 17 db

      *sigh* i'm just gonna see how it goes now, but i do understand its peak time atm and maybe traffic shaping could be in effect?

    5. #44
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Dlm?

      NOT on Max, just on Connect...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #45
      Shadowhunta's Avatar
      Shadowhunta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01420
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dlm?

      Okay, thanks again guys for all the help, i've been a pain in the bum i know, so many apologies for that and i really appreciate all the help you've given me

     

     
    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION