Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Microfilters and slow speeds

    This is a discussion on Microfilters and slow speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everybody, I've just signed up here hoping to get some answers. I've recently switched from NTL/Virgin to Sky Max, ...

    1. #1
      mattyboosh's Avatar
      mattyboosh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Microfilters and slow speeds

      Hi everybody,

      I've just signed up here hoping to get some answers.

      I've recently switched from NTL/Virgin to Sky Max, so i'm a little hazy on the whole Router/Microfilter setup.

      My main problem is that when I try to run my broadband connection through one of the supplied Microfilters, I don't get any connection. Yet when I connect straight into the phone socket I can connect..
      I've tried swapping the filters but still, no luck.

      Also, i'm very dissappointed with the speeds i'm getting, but this is possibly due to not using a microfilter on my connection.

      Connection Speed: 2180 kbps/764 kbps
      Line Attenuation: 40.5 db/24.5 db
      Noise Margin: 9.0 db/15.0 db

      Thanks for any help
      M.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Microfilters and slow speeds

      How are you connecting to the phone socket without a filter? The RJ11 plug will not fit in a standard socket. The only way you could do this is with a filtered faceplate, if this is the case you will not be able to use any of your phone sockets as they are already filtered. If you have an NTE5 line box, remove the faceplate and plug into the Test socket using a filter and post your stats from there. See Test socket link below.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      mattyboosh's Avatar
      mattyboosh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Microfilters and slow speeds

      Now this is where I look like an idiot - i've just noticed that i've been trying to connect a microfilter to an already microfiltered line. Didn't realise my friend (who set it up for me) had connected one to my extension. Thanks for the advice though, i'm still going to run it through my test socket to see what speeds I get.

      Any advce on my current slow speeds though? Shall I be phoning Sky and asking why its so bloomin' slow?

    5. #4
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Microfilters and slow speeds

      You have inadvertently answered your own question, its slow because you are running off an extension.
      Find your master socket, remove the faceplate and plug your router into the test socket.


      Then post your stats again.


    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Microfilters and slow speeds

      With a good line you should get 8-10 mb, plug the router directly into the master socket, through a filter. Extensions, especially the plug in type are a no no.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION