Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Llu Line Share Pstn

    This is a discussion on Llu Line Share Pstn within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Skys order for ' LLU LINE SHARE PSTN' was today completed by BT on my line. My engineer visit for ...

    1. #1
      Johnny7's Avatar
      Johnny7 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: High Wycombe (SMHY)
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      High Wycombe
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Llu Line Share Pstn

      Skys order for 'LLU LINE SHARE PSTN' was today completed by BT on my line.

      My engineer visit for installation is 9th October, which means I have no BB for the next fortnight .... at least!!

      Thanks Sky!
      John in High Wycombe


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sorry to see this John

      It goes from the sublime to the ridiculous you get activated when your not ready and there are loads of members who's activation keeps getting pushed back, all this is really NUTS............
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      grumsta's Avatar
      grumsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hinckley (EMHINCK)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Could you not opt for self-installation? It's not hard at all, and there's a bunch of people here who'll help you through it.

      I had the installation, and to be honest it was just a chap who unpacked it and plugged it in. He was nice enough, but he wasn't a tecchie!

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes true and I was talking to Sky TV installation guy yesterday and I asked him if he did the routers yest and he said nope but soon as he had to go on a course first
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      Johnny7's Avatar
      Johnny7 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: High Wycombe (SMHY)
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      High Wycombe
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by grumsta View Post
      Could you not opt for self-installation?
      I did phone Sky last week as I saw this coming due to the pending orders on the BT Tracker. They said I would have to cancel my order and re-order, which would take longer than waiting the fortnight for the 'engineer'.

      I am tempted to call Sky again and ask them if they could just order a router to be sent out, like a replacement for a faulty one, but I am concerned they would press a few wrong buttons and everything would get cancelled.

      Patience is a virtue!

      john
      Last edited by Johnny7; 26-09-06 at 08:56 AM.
      John in High Wycombe

    7. #6
      tinx's Avatar
      tinx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham Carfax SDHRSHM
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Wheelie View Post
      Yes true and I was talking to Sky TV installation guy yesterday and I asked him if he did the routers yest and he said nope but soon as he had to go on a course first

      I have a mate who is a sky installer and he wa stelling me that one of his colleagues was stuck on a sky broadband install for 4 hours as he couldn't ge tit to work, he couldn't understand when I told him it took me about 30 seconds to get mine up and running without any trouble at all.

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yep and thats one of the main problems with an engineer installation, if the line hasn't been activated when they come to install it they are totally lost and no matter how good the course is they would have to sort out so many types of possible computer problems they could well be on a hiding to nothing.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION