Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

    This is a discussion on Help! Sky permanently screwed me over! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; SKY ARE ANNOYING ME I've had Sky for over a year, and haven't complained to them once. But I just ...

    1. #1
      fatboyharri95's Avatar
      fatboyharri95 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rochford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Rochford
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      SKY ARE ANNOYING ME

      I've had Sky for over a year, and haven't complained to them once.

      But I just can't take it any more!!

      After the first two weeks, my connection sped went straight down and are really low. I can't get any higher than 100 kb/s

      It's really Annoying!!!! And I'm only 1 km away from the Exchange!!!!

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 404 168 0 3554 1114 00:00:28
      LAN 10M/100M 36782602 38268403 0 384 1182 797:54:18
      WLAN 11M/54M 116809 63212 0 13553 332 03:24:02

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1856 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.0 db 26.5 db
      Noise Margin 19.2 db 23.0 db
      Last edited by fatboyharri95; 17-02-09 at 12:47 AM. Reason: left something out


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      How are you connected, wired or wireless. Are you a heavy downloader or iplayer (etc) watcher?

      Have you tried connecting to the TEST socket underneath the BT master socket faceplate (you have to unscrew and remove the faceplate).

    4. #3
      fatboyharri95's Avatar
      fatboyharri95 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rochford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Rochford
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      I'm wired and download about 1.5 gig a week

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post

      Have you tried connecting to the TEST socket underneath the BT master socket faceplate (you have to unscrew and remove the faceplate).
      Not sure you would have seen my edited post as you replied quickly.

    6. #5
      fatboyharri95's Avatar
      fatboyharri95 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rochford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Rochford
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      no, i never knew that was there.... My routers nowhere near the master socket though.

      It would mean going wireless, which is so much worse... 25 kb/s

    7. #6
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      Also can i ask ,
      The rotuer is connecting at 1.8 are you happy with this ?
      And how often do you turn the rotuer off ?
      And is it slow all the time or only at night ?

      Regards
      Steven

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      Well, you have an attenuation of 40, so you should be able to sync at around 5-6Mb as opposed to the 2Mb that you are synching at.

      Try the TEST socket underneath the BT faceplate and repost your stats and a speedtest.... you might just be surprised.

    9. #8
      fatboyharri95's Avatar
      fatboyharri95 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rochford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Rochford
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      It is always slow, i turn it off most nights unless i'm downloading something, and if it claims to be connecting at 1.8 it really doesn't act like it... so no i'm not

    10. #9
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      Quote Originally Posted by Steven_Belfast View Post
      Also can i ask ,
      The rotuer is connecting at 1.8 are you happy with this ?
      And how often do you turn the rotuer off ?
      And is it slow all the time or only at night ?

      Regards
      Steven

      Yep I was thinking it may be the BT re-profiling kicking in. It was going to be my next thing after the TEST socket.

    11. #10
      fatboyharri95's Avatar
      fatboyharri95 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rochford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Rochford
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      but that would mean going wireless... i'm not sure i even know where the wireless drivers are....

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION