Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

    This is a discussion on Help! Sky permanently screwed me over! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by fatboyharri95 It is always slow, i turn it off most nights unless i'm downloading something, and if ...

    1. #11
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      Quote Originally Posted by fatboyharri95 View Post
      It is always slow, i turn it off most nights unless i'm downloading something, and if it claims to be connecting at 1.8 it really doesn't act like it... so no i'm not
      First things first. Get the router plugged into the TEST socket anbd repost your stats and a speed test.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      There you go ,

      The router is ment to be left on so that the bras profile can change ,
      This can take up to 72 hours to change ,

      Leave the router on for 4 days ,

      Go to Test Result enter your phone number and also when asked the Mac address under the rotuer with @SKYDSL. ie 1D2F3J4J56J7J89@SKYDSL

      Within the next 72 houes you should see the profile change .

      Also if its only slow at nights read this ,


      Traffic management of our Network

      To ensure we provide a sustainable quality broadband service to our customers, we continuously monitor and efficiently manage the Sky Network as a whole. To do this, during peak times (from 5pm to 12am each day), we may slow down the speed that all Sky Broadband Connect customers can get on certain applications which we consider use up a lot of bandwidth (for example peer-to-peer and newsgroups) and which have a negative affect on other customers There are no restrictions in place for applications such as browsing, email, streaming, instant messaging and VOIP during peak times. We do not put restrictions on our network outside of peak times.

      http://www.sky.com/portal/site/skyco...roadband/terms

      Nothing can be done about this ,

    4. #13
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      Quote Originally Posted by fatboyharri95 View Post
      but that would mean going wireless... i'm not sure i even know where the wireless drivers are....
      Well you're going to have to bite the bullet or get a long ethernet cable or move the PC temporaily next to the TEST socket.

      Sky won't even entertain a call from you as this is on the list of things you have to do for it to be escalated.

    5. #14
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      Quote Originally Posted by Steven_Belfast View Post
      There you go ,

      The router is ment to be left on so that the bras profile can change ,
      This can take up to 72 hours to change ,

      Leave the router on for 4 days ,

      Go to Test Result enter your phone number and also when asked the Mac address under the rotuer with @SKYDSL. ie 1D2F3J4J56J7J89@SKYDSL

      Within the next 72 houes you should see the profile change .

      Still doesn;t explain the poor DL speed vs synced speed. that is more akin to errors on the line due to poor internal wiring isn't it?

      I agree that the BT re-profiling due to constantly switching off the router could be the cause of teh 1.8Mb sync rate.... but then again that could also be due to the internal wiring.

    6. #15
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Still doesn;t explain the poor DL speed vs synced speed. that is more akin to errors on the line due to poor internal wiring isn't it?

      I agree that the BT re-profiling due to constantly switching off the router could be the cause of teh 1.8Mb sync rate.... but then again that could also be due to the internal wiring.

      Traffic management

      This is why i asked him to do speed tests ,
      If its only slow at nights there nothing can be done about it .

    7. #16
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      Is BT that bad these days? I thought TM only kicked in on things like P2P etc. As he only downloads 1.5Gig a month, he doesn;t sound like someone that would suffer from TM unless they are applying it to browsing now too.

      Of course I am totally second guessing. Hopefully he's got enough info now to strat trouble shooting.

    8. #17
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      Yeah man let us know how you get on with this ,

    9. #18
      mjdominey's Avatar
      mjdominey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Verwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      Still doesn;t explain the poor DL speed vs synced speed. that is more akin to errors on the line due to poor internal wiring isn't it?

      I agree that the BT re-profiling due to constantly switching off the router could be the cause of teh 1.8Mb sync rate.... but then again that could also be due to the internal wiring.
      It might. If he has ever sync'd lower than that, his IP Profile might be much less than the sync rate. The line has to be sync'd stably at the new rate (1.8m) for at least 3 days before the BT RAMBO will up the IP Profile. If it is turned off every night, it will never achieve this. If he does the BT speedtest as described, it will tell him what his current IP profile is, as well as what he is currently sync'd at.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      I think what you all may be missing is his noise margin of 19dbs. This is very high, even for Connect, which normally works on a higher margin than LLU.

      He should leave the router plugged in for 3-4 days, boot once a day during that period and see if his sync speed increases. If it doesn't then I think he will have to phone Sky, hope he gets through to someone with some sense and ask them to get BT to retrain his line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Sky permanently screwed me over!

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think what you all may be missing is his noise margin of 19dbs. This is very high, even for Connect, which normally works on a higher margin than LLU.
      Na its not man average for connect is from 15 to 25 db ,

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION