Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    upload speed keeps changing

    This is a discussion on upload speed keeps changing within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i,m currently on the max package which i got mainly for upload speed.the problem is this,everytime my electricity goes when ...

    1. #1
      zola1's Avatar
      zola1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swansea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      upload speed keeps changing

      i,m currently on the max package which i got mainly for upload speed.the problem is this,everytime my electricity goes when router boots back up the upload speeds are never the same i supposed to get something like 796kbps but sometimes it,s as low as 500kbps i have to keep rebooting router to get somewhere near 700kbps which i have to do several times.My downstream is always 4095kbps never changes although it used to be higher is there any way to get my upload speed to stay at 796kbps.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: upload speed keeps changing

      When did you get Sky B/B? If it is since the new DLM started to run then by turning off and on the router frequently DLM may interprit this as a fault and reduce the speeds until it thinks you are stable again.

      Can you post your router stats, this will show if you are being capped.

    4. #3
      zola1's Avatar
      zola1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Swansea
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: upload speed keeps changing

      i,v e been with sky broadband for over 2 years here,s my stats don,t know if i,m capped or not.

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1025598 694145 0 34560 3629 08:45:06
      LAN 10M/100M 88628 38138 0 1247 321 08:46:32
      WLAN 11M/54M 714192 1052141 0 3289 35048 08:46:24


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 693 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.5 db 32.9 db
      Noise Margin 8.6 db 10.5 db

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: upload speed keeps changing

      Sky advertise their Max upload speed as 768kbps, this used to be the norm on G.DMT. If you saw a higher figure than this at some time, it probably means DLM was running on your line.
      It is possible DLM has left your line slightly capped, I say slightly, as your noise margin is just over the default, so your line will not take much more. I am not sure whether it has also capped your upload, but it looks pretty good. There are some on Max stuck with an upload of just over 400, which is pretty low.
      Do you need a high speed upload? It does not matter too much unless you are regularly uploading a lot of files.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: upload speed keeps changing

      Quote Originally Posted by zola1 View Post
      .the problem is this,everytime my electricity goes
      Dunno if i have taken it out of context, what do you mean, do you have a fluctuation in your electric supply

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION