Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    SAGEM constant PPP unavailable

    This is a discussion on SAGEM constant PPP unavailable within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sometimes I can be online for hours, other times the service appears to go down every few minutes. Usually in ...

    1. #1
      anuvid's Avatar
      anuvid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SAGEM constant PPP unavailable

      Sometimes I can be online for hours, other times the service appears to go down every few minutes. Usually in the closing seconds of an eBay bid ! Tried the usual test socket, speed test, etc etc. ROuter appeared to get extremely hot so tried turning off and on which appeared to work but actually when compared to just waiting and trying to reconnect without rebooting the results were the same - so I am tearing my hair out. Actually I have none. Anybody got ideas ? Sky don't. By the way it's the traditional PPP server down error I'm having tocontend with


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SAGEM constant PPP unavailable

      Before anyone can advise you will have to post the stats from the router. Press the Show Statistics button in the router settings and copy and paste the results.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      anuvid's Avatar
      anuvid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SAGEM constant PPP unavailable

      My stats:

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 23:03:55

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7496489 8759989 0 0 52347 21:47:28
      LAN 5472822 5791778 0 0 0 23:03:55
      WLAN 4011587 2427319 0 152 110 23:03:32
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11448 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.5 db 9.8 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 14.0 db

    5. #4
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SAGEM constant PPP unavailable

      Quote Originally Posted by anuvid View Post
      Router appeared to get extremely hot
      Call sky tell them rotuer is over heating and get a new one .

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: SAGEM constant PPP unavailable

      It is possible your router is faulty as Steven suggests, but you do appear to have noise problems on your line. With a good line you should expect the full 16 Mbs. To narrow the search for your problem, I suggest you plug into the Test socket, link below, and post your stats from there.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION