Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Please help 60% package loss!!!!

    This is a discussion on Please help 60% package loss!!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey all, Can some1 please help me, i have got sky bb connect, my activation date was 10/2, i have ...

    1. #1
      adamrayner1981's Avatar
      adamrayner1981 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: driffield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Please help 60% package loss!!!!

      Hey all,
      Can some1 please help me, i have got sky bb connect, my activation date was 10/2, i have a sagem bb router, i have the 3 green lights at the top and 1 green light on the ethernet connect, i cannot display any web pages!
      I have spoke to techinal help they went through everything from manual entry of ip address, i then got passed to customer solutions, where they did i line test and found that the problem is at 50-60% package loss between the router and the computer, they thought it might be a virus, so i did a compelet format of the computer and restarted, i still cannot show any webpages.
      i have windows vista and the bubble is show local and internet connection is ok, sky are going to send me a new netgear router to see if sorts the problem.
      i have two computers and its the same on that aswell, and my ps3 will find the router and ip address but not the test connection always fails!
      Customer solutions got me to do a ping test on command promt and they was no loss of data!
      Its very strange because the router is fine and connected to the interenet, just the same as when i had talktalk interenet! could any help?
      I had talktalk bb before and never had a problem.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Please help 60% package loss!!!!

      Connect you PC to the router with the Ethernet cable, log into the router.
      If its Netgear http://routerlogin.com/

      User admin password sky, scroll down to router statistics and post what you get.


    4. #3
      adamrayner1981's Avatar
      adamrayner1981 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: driffield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Please help 60% package loss!!!!

      Firmware Version 1.5Sky

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:1e:74:0e:31:bf
      IP Address 90.194.108.25
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 89.200.128.198
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97 90.207.238.99

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:1e:74:0e:31:bd
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP enable
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023c.d20e
      Modem Status Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 7776
      UpStream Connection Speed 448
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      This is my stats its not problem with router they say its been transfered from there to the comp thats the problem and its doing it on every comp, but my mobile bb is working fine

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Please help 60% package loss!!!!

      Are you getting the loss at all times or only during the peak period?

      If it is only down to the peak period then it is due to capacity issues on the connect package. Only option is to move to another ISP at the moment, Sky have given no indication on when this issue will be resolved.

    6. #5
      adamrayner1981's Avatar
      adamrayner1981 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: driffield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Please help 60% package loss!!!!

      Nah in getting the loss all the time, computer is saying connected to the net and router but when put a web page in, it just says cannot display webpage!.
      Got a month to sort the problem otherwise will bin sky and go bk to talktalk.

    7. #6
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help 60% package loss!!!!

      Hello there ,

      So you are getting oacket loss from the pc`s to the router ?
      And you have 3 computers and a Ps3,
      Can you give more info on the following ,

      Make of all 3 computers ?
      Are all 3 wireless ?
      How far are they from the router ?
      What make wireless adapters are you using ?
      What are the wireless settings of the router - Channle Ect ?

      Also have you done a ping test to the rotuer when the wireless is disabled and the cable connected ?

    8. #7
      adamrayner1981's Avatar
      adamrayner1981 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: driffield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Please help 60% package loss!!!!

      hi there, i have 2 computers and a ps3,
      makes are compac desktop not wireless, fujitsu laptop wireless and ethernet connection, ps3 is both.
      the laptop and ps3 are 15ft away from the router and they both have 100% signal.
      Channel is set to auto
      Wireless adaptors are the ones built into the ps3 and laptop.
      Did a ping test with skys customer solutions using command promt in windows vista, no loss of data.
      But when they do a ping test at there end its fine untill it gets from the router to the computer where it loses around 55-65%
      Done a ping test both wireless and cable and the results are fine.
      im baffled as i had talktalk up untill monday nite, never had a problem with my netgear router with them, then plugged the sky box in and nothing?
      the laptop and desktop are in connecting and disconecting from the internet throught the router all the time, i think the problem is now the router as two computers and a ps3 wont work what else could it be? all 3 cant have the same problem can they?
      Last edited by adamrayner1981; 14-02-09 at 10:46 PM.

    9. #8
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help 60% package loss!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by adamrayner1981 View Post
      Did a ping test with skys customer solutions using command promt in windows vista, no loss of data.
      Ok so this shows the fault is not from the pc`s to the rotuer ,

      Quote Originally Posted by adamrayner1981 View Post
      But when they do a ping test at there end its fine untill it gets from the router to the computer where it loses around 55-65%
      I dont get this bit ok sky cant ping passed your router to your pc unless you say its ok and so then dont do this ,
      I would not put up with that and get on the phone to them if i was you and get them to re - run the tests again .

      Also you mite want to change the channle number man auto can some times cause bother , try 11 or 13 .

    10. #9
      adamrayner1981's Avatar
      adamrayner1981 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: driffield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Please help 60% package loss!!!!

      Been back and the phone and basically got told theres nothing wrong with the internet connection to the house and the router, it the loss between the router and the computers. And the told me the problem was pretty much up to me to sort out! Wasnt impressed, have now cancelled my bb with sky and are moving bk to talktalk.
      Just out of interest got next door to try and connect to the router, which they did fine, but then they had the same problem as me when trying to look at webpages.

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Please help 60% package loss!!!!

      Well what do you expect Sky to do if you have a problem with your connection to the router. Have you tried running an ethernet cable to rule out a wireless fault?

      I assume you requested a MAC code and did not just say you wanted to cancel.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION