Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Problems with Sky Broadband - takes a while to load websites

    This is a discussion on Problems with Sky Broadband - takes a while to load websites within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello I've been recently having lots of problems with my sky broadband (16meg option) - basically, the problem is very ...

    1. #1
      arczi19's Avatar
      arczi19 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems with Sky Broadband - takes a while to load websites

      Hello
      I've been recently having lots of problems with my sky broadband (16meg option) - basically, the problem is very irritating and annoying - I often have to click on refresh many times until the website loads as they seem to loading, but nothing happens (I was once waiting 10 minutes, but nothing happend, couple of clicks on refresh button and the website loaded). It's usually more often in the evenings - I'm sure that its not the computer's fault, as I've tested it on many different computers, including ones with freshly installed windows. I'm not using wireless connection and I've got black router. What do I need to do to get it working properly?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Broadband - takes a while to load websites

      you will need to have a look at the router stats (connection speed/noise margin/ect) and post them back here, this will give some clues as to your problem.

      hav a look in the forums for info on how to get your details

    4. #3
      arczi19's Avatar
      arczi19 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Broadband - takes a while to load websites

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3581 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49 db 29 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 21 db

      They haven't changed as far as I'm concerned, as I've been closely monitoring them for past 2 months.

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Broadband - takes a while to load websites

      looking at your stats, you look like your on the mid package (upstream is higher on max), but i have not been on here for a while and i'm not up to date fully with any changes that may have been made over the last few months.

      your noise margin is also fairly high which could be down to noise on the line, or that you have been capped because of a bad line (again there is a new thing that was happening to do with DLM which may account for your high noise margin)

      sorry if i seem to be waffling a bit !

      are you able to get the detailed stats to look at (will show CRC errors)

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Broadband - takes a while to load websites

      It looks like you have been capped, you can check by booting your router a few times and check the Connection Speed, if it stays at 3581, with a high noise margin, you are capped. Your noise margin at the moment is about 7 dbs above default, which usaually means a cap. Your upload speed is also low for Max, although that seems to be becoming more common.

      If you have not called Sky about disconnection problems the chances are you have had DLM running and it has left your connection capped for some reason.

      You should try the stats from the Test socket (link below) and post them here.

      Do you have the same problem with all browsers or do you just use one. If you only use one try installing another. GoogleChrome is a good choice for a trial.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      arczi19's Avatar
      arczi19 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Broadband - takes a while to load websites

      I was capped indeed, I used to have problems with disconnects. Nothing has been changed hardware wise, I used different filters with no luck ;/

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Broadband - takes a while to load websites

      have you tested from the "test" socket, (see first link in my sig)

    9. #8
      arczi19's Avatar
      arczi19 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Broadband - takes a while to load websites

      Yeah, I've actually been connected to test socket since very beginning, doing exactly what it says in your guide.

    10. #9
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Broadband - takes a while to load websites

      are you using the Sky default DNS servers? They have been known to cause laggy web surfing.

      try OpenDNS, it can be configured up quickly on your PC to see if it works. Lots of people use it and works very well.

      OpenDNS | Providing A Safer And Faster Internet
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    11. #10
      arczi19's Avatar
      arczi19 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Sky Broadband - takes a while to load websites

      Is that the Dynamic DNS feature in options? As im not exactly sure where to change my router DNS ;/
      Last edited by arczi19; 14-02-09 at 12:36 AM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION