Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Router stats ???

    This is a discussion on Router stats ??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Here is my router stats Line Mode G.DMT Line State Show Time Latency Type Fast Line Up Time 00:00:02:17 Line ...

    1. #1
      DTfan's Avatar
      DTfan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portadown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router stats ???

      Here is my router stats

      Line Mode G.DMT Line State Show Time
      Latency Type Fast Line Up Time 00:00:02:17
      Line Coding Trellis On Line Up Count 1

      Statistics Downstream Upstream
      Line Rate 1152 Kbps 288 Kbps
      Noise Margin 29.8 dB 25.0 dB
      Line Attenuation 52.0 dB 27.5 dB
      Output Power 17.8 dBm 11.3 dBm

      If I'm reading it right I have a middle to high attenuation but a good noise margin, now my question is do you think my attenuation is too high for the noise margin on the line?.

      I went to the termination box cleaned all the contacts it brought my noise margin from 21dB to what it is now, a strange thing happened when I reconnected all my equiptment to the test socket my attenuation went down to 15dB. When I disconnected it a second time then plugged back into the test socket it went back to 52dB, I can make this happen again all I have to do is disconnect and reconnect all the wires in the termination box, then connect my router to the test socket as long as I do not disconnect and reconnect the router(or turn it on or off) it will stay at 15. I'm 2.7km by road from the exchange so this 15dB is wrong but its a strange occurence all the same.

      Could this just be a missreading by the router a BT voyager 2110(sky is not turned on till tomorrow), I can refresh the information page on the router and it still will sit at 15dB, I let it stay on for 15 min the reading never changes. I am now connected using a filtered faceplate with a cat 5 running into a termination box in the computer room and my Att is 52dB, I have not tried getting the 15dB using the face plate as I can't be bothered running back and forth.

      All that being said, my origional question still stands, is the Noise margin too go for a line with 52dB attenuation or does it just mean I have a long but high quality line?.

      Many thanks

      Ed


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Router stats ???

      If your router intermittently reports the attenuation as 15db, that sounds like a router bug.

      With regard to your question: a high noise margin is only good if your sync is at the maximum for the package you're on. Otherwise it is a pretty good indication that your connection is capped if you're on LLU or that there is a noise problem if you are on BT IPstream. Presumably the latter applies to you.

      One other thing: whatever you did when cleaning up your connection hasn't done you any favours. If you were getting a noise margin of 21db and now it's 17.8db then that's not an improvement.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router stats ???

      The stats are laid out different, the new NM is 29.8dbs. Different routers show the stats in different ways. With a Sky router the attenuation could well be lower, as well as the noise margin. It actually looks like the stats you got from an old 2Mb down line, rather than ADSLMax.

      Looks like we are both missing thing today

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Router stats ???

      Oh yea - misread the figures.


      @DTfan

      Ignore my comment about your cleaning up. You have improved the quality.

    6. #5
      DTfan's Avatar
      DTfan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portadown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router stats ???

      I'm on a capped 1meg line its my old connection I am taking the stats from(zen internet), the sky ASDL2 package does not go live till tomorrow. I am just making sure my line is the best it can be for the testing period.

      I was ruling out faluty wiring in the house my neighbours have between 35 and 45db Att on their lines, I was hoping it was some fault in my home that was causing the higher Attenuation looks like i'm just on a longer line(always my luck :O) ).

      I have been thinking of removing all the wiring between the termination point from the BT line and the master socket in the house but that would have me rewiring all the extensions and rerunning the cat 5 to the computer room, something to think of in the future.

      One more question what is the normal switch over time for sky, do they have a set time or is it just a random time throughout the day?.

      Thanks

      Ed

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Router stats ???

      The shift to Sky LLU can be at any time up to midnight on the date in question, and this date may slip by up to three days, Its not Sky but Openreach who do the shift,and they give Sky the date.
      You are doing the right thing in thinking about your wiring now, so here is a few guide lines for you, I hope this helps.

      (1) The best place for your master socket is as close as possible to where the line enters your home, and close to a power socket if you can arrange it.

      (2) The best cable to use between the line entry junction and the master location is 2 pair CW1308 telephone cable, there is no need for cat5e at this point.

      (3) Use a filter faceplate to connect all your existing extensions to the master socket

      (4) The best location for a router is close to the master socket

      (5) You can then use cat5e to connect router to PC

    8. #7
      DTfan's Avatar
      DTfan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portadown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router stats ???

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      The shift to Sky LLU can be at any time up to midnight on the date in question, and this date may slip by up to three days, Its not Sky but Openreach who do the shift,and they give Sky the date.
      You are doing the right thing in thinking about your wiring now, so here is a few guide lines for you, I hope this helps.

      (1) The best place for your master socket is as close as possible to where the line enters your home, and close to a power socket if you can arrange it.

      (2) The best cable to use between the line entry junction and the master location is 2 pair CW1308 telephone cable, there is no need for cat5e at this point.

      (3) Use a filter faceplate to connect all your existing extensions to the master socket

      (4) The best location for a router is close to the master socket

      (5) You can then use cat5e to connect router to PC
      The line extension from the entry junction was engineer fitted at the time of my first ADSL installation many years ago, its the thick white cable from the entry junction box to the master socket If I remember right its a 4 core twisted pair cable but I could be wrong..

      The Cat5 is from the front of the filtered face plate and runs about 10 feet to a terminated box to plug the router into, the chances of the other half allowing the router to be in the hall are slim to none....., who am I kidding its none to none :O).

      So if there is any chance of lowering the Attenuation would I be wrong in my belief due to the Att being the same at the test socket and on the end of the engineer fitted extension for the adsl line, moving the master socket closer to the entry junction would be my only hope.

      Many thanks for all who have replied.

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Router stats ???

      There is not much you can do about attenuation, but your final BB speed is not just about attenuation, noise margin is also a factor. The best connection is acheved by having the master close to the cable entry, filter faceplate, then router. This set-up ensures that the ADSL signal which gets to your router is as clean as possible.

    10. #9
      DTfan's Avatar
      DTfan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portadown
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router stats ???

      Well got connected this morning,

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6496 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 31.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 14.0 db

      No packet loss that I can see more or less downloading at 610-620 at all time from newshosting.com.

      If it stays like this I will be a hppy bunny.

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Router stats ???

      Very good sync for your attenuation. No scope for improvement there.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION