Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23

    Simple question

    This is a discussion on Simple question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm sure this is just simple to understand, but i just cant work my head around it, i got a ...

    1. #1
      istat's Avatar
      istat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Simple question

      I'm sure this is just simple to understand, but i just cant work my head around it, i got a few small problems i seem to get in my head when im thinking of going with Sky Broadband Max as im looking to swap ISP

      1. Do you have to get the Sky box / tv packs ? to become an ISP customer of Sky
      2. What exact package do you need to take from the Sky Talk options or does it not matter? this is to assure £5 does not get added everything month to my bill.

      Thanks for your time, much appreciated !

      i want sky isp


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Simple question

      1. Do you have to get the Sky box / tv packs ? to become an ISP customer of Sky
      To get Sky Broadband, you have to have an active Sky TV subscription. The minimum one being £16.50 per month

      2. What exact package do you need to take from the Sky Talk options or does it not matter? this is to assure £5 does not get added everything month to my bill.
      Any of them afaik - even the free version.

      Take our unlimited broadband package with up to 16Mb download speeds (depending on your location). £10 a month when you take Sky Talk (otherwise £15 pm from 1.3.09).
      *Broadband: You must subscribe to your chosen Broadband product for 12 months. Monthly subscription from 01.03.09: Base £5; Mid £10; Max £15; you’ll get £5 off each month provided you take Sky Talk.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Simple question

      To qualify for Broadband or SkyTalk, you need at least a minimum subscription to Sky TV. I think about £16 is the lowest at the moment.

      To qualify for discount you need only take the free Sky Talk package. Sky Talk Unlimited costs £5 and gives you free 01,02,03, call plus a number of international destinations.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      istat's Avatar
      istat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Simple question

      thanks alot for the replys.

      yes i managed to read requirements and such thats why im here to double check it all!! so thanks for your time, will probably keep my head around here as it keeps me up to something whilst im at work with no work!

      Thank you once again, should be with sky broadband soon!

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Simple question

      Make certain you are going to be on LLU. The Connect package is having terrible throttling problems at the moment.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      istat's Avatar
      istat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Simple question

      yeh im a gamer, so i've got internet needs! am gonna make sure i go with bb max! ty for notice anyway i've been reading about all them complaints of that service ><

    8. #7
      istat's Avatar
      istat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Simple question

      EDIT:
      Apparantly the max speed i can get is 4Mbps

      These are the following services that are available in my location:
      BT Wholesale ADSL
      BT Wholesale ADSL Max
      AOL LLU
      Bulldog LLU
      TalkTalk (CPW) LLU
      Sky Broadband / Easynet LLU
      Orange LLU (Formerly Wanadoo)

      I'm going to go with sky BB max, but if i can only get a potential 4Mbps, would it be worth buying the cheaper package ? but if im on an LLU line im sure sky can make my connection above to what i currently can get which is at 4Mbps
      Last edited by istat; 11-02-09 at 02:17 PM.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Simple question

      What is your present attenuation? I think you will find you will get a good bit more than the estimate, but I doubt if it will be much over 8Mb. Your best bet is to join Mid and see how your line performs, if it is good enough, it is very easy to change up to Max. Changing down to Mid on the other hand, if you do not get the high speed, is nigh on impossible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      istat's Avatar
      istat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Simple question

      ok that seems v.understandble, when i get home ill try figure out my line information, and will post here soon!

    11. #10
      istat's Avatar
      istat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Simple question

      Protocol
      ADSL State: Showtime
      Data Path: Interleave
      Operation Mode: G.DMT


      Line Status down - up
      ADSL Link Speed 4480kbps - 448kbps
      SNR 8.0dB - 0.0dB
      ATEN 35dB - 22dB

      Line Error down - up
      ADSL layer
      FEC 27085 - 3
      CRC 820 - 1
      ATM layer
      HEC 572 - 2

      This is the most information i could retrieve from my router that would help!

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION