Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Incorrect Speed Test Readout

    This is a discussion on Incorrect Speed Test Readout within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm fairly new to Sky, having just received it a Christmas. I came to it from o2 due to ...

    1. #1
      rossco's Avatar
      rossco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen Denburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Incorrect Speed Test Readout

      Hi,

      I'm fairly new to Sky, having just received it a Christmas. I came to it from o2 due to their service being shocking and there being no sign of a fix in sight.

      I'm fairly happy with the service (i'm on Sky Max), however it seems I get incredibly low speeds when I do the online checks. I'm pretty happy with my download speed, although I guess it could be higher. It's just odd that I get around 3-4mbps most of the time. When I should be getting nearer the max speeds.

      Anyway, here are my router stats;

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7429 10330 0 1907 13211 00:15:45
      LAN 100M/Full 999 0 0 103 0 00:16:28
      WLAN 11M/54M 11693 8151 0 13222 1951 00:16:16
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16379 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 12 db

      And here's a speed test from speedtest.net:



      What do you guys thing I should be getting?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Incorrect Speed Test Readout

      Speedtest.net is not at all dependable. Try the Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester Also try timing a download from a fast server like MS.

      What speed did you get with O2? It is possible you need to optimise your PC, use TCPOptimiser from the link below.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Incorrect Speed Test Readout

      also, don't use wireless if you are...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Incorrect Speed Test Readout

      If you are not using wireless which can be very slow, it is quite possible you have some malware using your bandwidth. To check for the shut down all browsers and email clients, open a Command Prompt and type netstat /b and hit enter. All that should be running is possibly your AV or other security updaters, if anything is running you do not recognise, look into it.

      To get accurate speed tests you must use ethernet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      rossco's Avatar
      rossco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aberdeen Denburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Incorrect Speed Test Readout

      I tried the optimisation. I'm now getting:



      Is this the best I should expect? I get the same results with either ethernet or wireless.

      Thanks for your help so far guys.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Incorrect Speed Test Readout

      With your sync speed you should get 13-14MB, although I think you will agree that is a massive improvement on your previous speed.

      When you run a speed test, make sure that nothing else is running at the same time. Close everything down, run netstat /b and if nothing is running open one window and run the test. If you are using SkyPlayer, it is connected all the time, whether you are using it or not. If you get a lot of results from netstat, copy and paste them here.

      I would also advise using the Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester speedtest.net is not accurate and can give widely contrasting results.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Incorrect Speed Test Readout

      Hello ,

      Also if you from Aberdeen dont use the dublin server to test the speed ,


      I am from belfast and get a worse speed using that server than i do from the london server ,


    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Incorrect Speed Test Readout

      Also if you from Aberdeen dont use the dublin server to test the speed
      Dublin is really terrible, I think it is the peat-fired server that does it

      When I used it I got better results from Paris than anywhere else. As I have said often, it is not very accurate.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Incorrect Speed Test Readout

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Dublin is really terrible.
      Do you mean the server or dublin its self lol ,

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Incorrect Speed Test Readout

      The speedtest server, Dublin is a great place, apart from the very expensive pints of Guinness.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION