Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Sky Max - Connection crawling..................

    This is a discussion on Sky Max - Connection crawling.................. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As I live quite a way from the exchange, the max my router snyc's at is 1024kbps - its crap, ...

    1. #1
      ady199's Avatar
      ady199 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Max - Connection crawling..................

      As I live quite a way from the exchange, the max my router snyc's at is 1024kbps - its crap, but thats the max I get.

      Over the last week, my connection has started to crawl, for the time period between 6am - 11am my connection works quite happily on 1024kbps - however after that time period my connection starts to crawl.

      I turn off the router and let it re-sync, the max it sync's at then is 864kbps which is crap and even worse it takes ages to obtain an IP address and when it does, my connection works for a couple of minutes but then grinds to a halt, even though the router is still synched.

      It has taken me from 11am this morning until now to get a stable connection - here are my current stats:-

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 576 kbps 512 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 2.9 db 10.0 db

      Crap I know but at least its stable at the moment.

      However I can guarantee that If I wait until around 6am tomorrow morning and I reboot my router - it will re-sync at 1024kbps.

      What the hell is happening!!!!

      I know your all going to say 'phone Sky' and yes this is something I will be doing (when I get a spare 5 minutes) but surely this can't be right - can it?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max - Connection crawling..................

      You have a massive problem there, your noise margin is very low on the DS.

      What the telephony set up like ? have you tried in the test socket

    4. #3
      ady199's Avatar
      ady199 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max - Connection crawling..................

      Quote Originally Posted by googleme View Post
      You have a massive problem there, your noise margin is very low on the DS.

      What the telephony set up like ? have you tried in the test socket
      Yep tried it on the master socket today - max it would snyc at was 924kbps

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Max - Connection crawling..................

      The Test socket, which is behind the master faceplate. If you don't have NTE5 with a Test socket, try removing the 'ring' wire from terminal 3 in the Master socket. With filters, this serves no useful purpose and can cause interference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      ady199's Avatar
      ady199 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max - Connection crawling..................

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The Test socket, which is behind the master faceplate. If you don't have NTE5 with a Test socket, try removing the 'ring' wire from terminal 3 in the Master socket. With filters, this serves no useful purpose and can cause interference.
      I have a filter face plate and - I did test it using the test socket - still the sync speed was crap

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Max - Connection crawling..................

      Sorry to butt in, do you have any extension sockets?

    8. #7
      ady199's Avatar
      ady199 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max - Connection crawling..................

      yes - 1

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Max - Connection crawling..................

      When you remove your filter faceplate and expose the test socket, have you checked to see if there is a dial tone at the extension?

    10. #9
      ady199's Avatar
      ady199 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Max - Connection crawling..................

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      When you remove your filter faceplate and expose the test socket, have you checked to see if there is a dial tone at the extension?
      No I haven't, I don't really want test it at the moment, as It will probably take ages to get a connection again

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Max - Connection crawling..................

      When you feel like checking. With the test socket exposed there should be no dial tone at the extension. This is most important for the correct operation of the filter faceplate.
      If there is a dial tone with the test socket exposed, it may be the root of your problems

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION