Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    My sky broadband speeds

    This is a discussion on My sky broadband speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Since I signed up for Sky BB about 4 months ago I was getting 2.6M line speed (Approx 320kbps). In ...

    1. #1
      djmartylyttle's Avatar
      djmartylyttle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My sky broadband speeds

      Since I signed up for Sky BB about 4 months ago I was getting 2.6M line speed (Approx 320kbps). In the last 2 weeks my speed dropped to just under 1M, so I phoned them and asked what the problem was. After finally getting talking to someone who knew what they were talking about the guy bumped my speed back up to 2.4M which he said was stable and anything higher would be unstable. The day after that the speed dropped back down to 1.6M. Is anyone else having this problem?
      I left tiscali to go to sky BB because tiscali were choking my p2p traffic, but with tiscali i always got 2M, whereas now with sky they keep dropping me to 1.6M after once having 2.6M for 4 months?
      Any replies would be great
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My sky broadband speeds

      Post your router stats, from the test/master socket. See linkys below and we shall have a look.

    4. #3
      djmartylyttle's Avatar
      djmartylyttle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My sky broadband speeds

      Sorry mate didnt realise. I'm no longer using the sagem as I didnt like it. I use my own 2wire router. Anyway heres what its telling me:
      Broadband Link
      Connection Speed:
      • Incoming: 1664 kbps
      • Outgoing: 416 kbps

      I reconnected the sagem before I rang sky and it is getting exactly the same speeds, so its not the router, its the line.

    5. #4
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My sky broadband speeds

      What I/We are after is the attenuation and noise margins(SNRS).

    6. #5
      djmartylyttle's Avatar
      djmartylyttle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My sky broadband speeds

      Sorry again mate. Heres what the 2wire says:

      DSL Connection Details
      DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
      Protocol: G.DMT
      Downstream Rate: 1664 kbps
      Upstream Rate: 416 kbps
      Channel: Interleaved
      Current Noise Margin: 11.0 dB (Downstream), 22.0 db (Upstream)
      Current Attenuation: 57.0 dB (Downstream), 31.0 db (Upstream)
      Current Output Power: 13.6 dB (Downstream), 12.3 db (Upstream)
      DSLAM Vendor Information: Country: {0xFF} Vendor: {GSPN} Specific: {0x800}
      PVC Info: 0/38

      If you need the same results from the sagem let me know and i'll reconnect it.

    7. #6
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My sky broadband speeds

      Looking at the attenuation you should be hitting nearer the 3 meg mark, on a perfect line.

      Could you pop the sagem on, I am used to reading snrs from those routers and can have a variance between routers. Does look like you are lighty capped though.

      Whats the set up like for telephony

    8. #7
      djmartylyttle's Avatar
      djmartylyttle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My sky broadband speeds

      Ok man, give me about 10 mins or so to get swapped over and restarted. thanks for the help btw man. back soon

    9. #8
      djmartylyttle's Avatar
      djmartylyttle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My sky broadband speeds

      Right, all swapped over. Done a print screen of the statistics on the sagem and here it is:

      http://img4.imageshack.us/my.php?image=97851926gg3.jpg

      All the same results as far as i can see give or take a few db

    10. #9
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My sky broadband speeds

      OK,
      Looks like you are capped with the SNR's at 13.1, the attenuation of 61, mm a little high. Never mind.

      How is this set up in the property test/master/extension socket, how many sockets are there ? Sorry for the questions just need to make sure the set up is perfect.

      Perfect stats are usually from the test socket. If no test then from the master with all other sockets unplugged.

    11. #10
      djmartylyttle's Avatar
      djmartylyttle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My sky broadband speeds

      There are 2 bt sockets both with filters. One is the main socket with an adsl cable (15M) to the router which is then inturn wired thru ethernet to the pc. The other socket only has the sky box wired to it.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION