Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Problems with the Sky DNS

    This is a discussion on Problems with the Sky DNS within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Currently im having problems with the sky DNS . The main problem seems to be on my main computer and ...

    1. #1
      TopCat1's Avatar
      TopCat1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems with the Sky DNS

      Currently im having problems with the sky DNS. The main problem seems to be on my main computer and my games console (i have a laptop as well which works fine) which both have been working fine up untill yesterday when the internet connection kept losing the connection every 5 to 10 minutes. Now both my main computer and my games console keep lossing connection and come with with a DSN error. Is it something i can fix or do i have to call the usless sky support.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      Try using OpenDNS instead, it is completely free:

      OpenDNS | Providing A Safer And Faster Internet

    4. #3
      TopCat1's Avatar
      TopCat1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      Yeah i have heard of that but im not the one paying for sky and the person that is is abit reluctent to use it. But thanks for the suggestion.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      You may need to actually look a little harder at the issue, it may not be a dns issue in itself. Are all the computers on ethernet? The PCs get their DNS information from the router so if they lose contact with the router they lose contact fullstop, can you browse by IP when you cannot browse by URL?

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      TopCat - why are they reluctant? almost everyone on here uses it and Sky even give it out as an alternative to their (often flakey) DNS servers...

      it takes 2 seconds and then you're done!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      You xan just stick it onto the TCIP settings of a PC and don't need to fiddle with the router.

      I still use it even though I am on O2.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    8. #7
      TopCat1's Avatar
      TopCat1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      how would i go about changing the DNS from sky to OpenDNS. I have tried using the methods shown on the OpenDNS website but i could'nt get anywhere with them.

    9. #8
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      What operating system do you use as the menus are different.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      It could not be simpler, just click your OS on this page and follow the instructions.
      https://www.opendns.com/homenetwork/start/computer/

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      TopCat1's Avatar
      TopCat1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      I have followed the guide on the website and it seems it has increase the speed slightly but hasnt fixed the problem. Every couple of minutes it loses connection for about half a minute then reconnects. I have windows vista which now tells me it does not know what the problem is.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION