Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    Problems with the Sky DNS

    This is a discussion on Problems with the Sky DNS within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I should not really increase your speed as such, but it should improve the response. As Paul said earlier, loosing ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      I should not really increase your speed as such, but it should improve the response. As Paul said earlier, loosing connection to the servers does not necessarily mean there is something wrong with the DNS. The first thing to check is if the router is dropping it's connection with the internet or with your devices. The next time it drops type http://192.168.0.1 in the address bar and see if you can connect with the router. If you can look at the status and see if you have an IP address for your ADSL Port connection. This will be in the forum of 9*.2**.2**.6, not the 192.168.0.1 you will see for the LAN port.

      If you are using wireless it is possible the wireless connection is dropping, so check with a cable connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      blisteringblue's Avatar
      blisteringblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horwich
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      97
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      Having DNS problems all the time now. It is only on wireless Vista laptops and the wireless is still connected because I can open the router config page via 192.168.0.1

      Been happening most days for the last couple of weeks. Have printed the instructions for open DNS and will try those.

      All a little annoying really because been on sky for nearly 2 years and other than the old router reboot issues before the new firmware it's been fine (touch wood).
      Post Sky DLM and after some cowboy contracters and BT ruined my line quality (was 6mb pre DLM):

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      It is possible you have a corrupt DNS cache. To fix this open a Command Prompt with elevated privileges (Run as Administrator) . In the command window type the following and then hit enter: ipconfig /flushdns
      You will receive a message confirming it has been done.

      Another thing that can cause problems with Vista is having IPv6 enabled. To disable it, open the Network and Sharing Centre and right click Manage Network Connections in the left pane. Right click the icon for your Wireless adapter and click Properties. Untick the box for Internet Protocol Version 6 and close out.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      TopCat1's Avatar
      TopCat1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with the Sky DNS

      It doesn't seem to be losing the connection with the devices themselves but loses the connection with the internet. However it only seems to be effecting my main computer whilst my laptop and my games console both work fine which seems odd because if the router was losing connection to the internet then shouldn't both of those be effected aswell. Anyway i'll give both methods shown on this page and see what happens.
      Last edited by TopCat1; 08-02-09 at 04:26 PM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION