Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Very Low Noise Margin

    This is a discussion on Very Low Noise Margin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 5120 kbps 768 kbps Line Attenuation 39 db 21 db Noise Margin 3 db ...

    1. #1
      Siecho's Avatar
      Siecho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCSG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Very Low Noise Margin

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5120 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 3 db 8 db


      I have spoken to sky (to no avail) tried Mognuts utility to force the margin up (which didn't ever show a difference).

      I live with .5km from the exchange, I think I should be receiving a higher connection speed than as above.

      Router is directly into master socket (via filter).

      Any ideas what's up?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Very Low Noise Margin

      Do you have any extension sockets? Have you tried the test socket at the master?

    4. #3
      Siecho's Avatar
      Siecho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCSG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very Low Noise Margin

      No extension sockets, and yes I've had the face plate off and plugged into the test socket. Same results.

      Sky lady said, word for word, tonight, "I should be thankful that I have a connection at all"

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Very Low Noise Margin

      Have you tried a quiet line test? Plug a normal wired phone into the test socket, dial a number to kill the dial tone and listern. You should only hear a low hiss, no pops or crackle.

    6. #5
      Siecho's Avatar
      Siecho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCSG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very Low Noise Margin

      Just done that, I can hardly hear anything, maybe a low hiss, definitely no pops or crackles.

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Very Low Noise Margin

      Then assuming you have tried a differant filter, and if your Sky tv box is connected to the phone line, it is through a filter., there is not much else to try. Do you have an old router you could try? even without the username and password it will still sync with the exchange and may prove that your Sky one is faulty.

    8. #7
      Siecho's Avatar
      Siecho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCSG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very Low Noise Margin

      I have an old netgear router I can try, I'll report back later on.

      I did try different filters and the tv box is connected through a filter too.

      Thank you Brian.

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Very Low Noise Margin

      Quote Originally Posted by Siecho View Post
      I have an old netgear router I can try, I'll report back later on.

      I did try different filters and the tv box is connected through a filter too.

      Thank you Brian.
      You state you only have one phone point but it sounds like you have more than one filter, one at the socket and one at the Sky box. You should only fitler the line out of the extension, no others on that line are required.

    10. #9
      Siecho's Avatar
      Siecho is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCSG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very Low Noise Margin

      Finally got in touch with Tier 3, it turns out that I was apparently on DMT? not ADSL2+, the nice man changed it to ADSL2+ then upped the noise margin and Hey Presto, I'm now receiving 13438 kbps!

      He said he would like me ring him back in 10 days to make sure everything is ok. Just have to quote the ticket number and I'll be put through to Tier 3 without the nonsense of Tier 1.

      Glad to know that somebody at Sky knows what they are doing!

      Thanks to Brian and Smithy for their help.

      Edit: Forgot to add stats.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13438 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 8 db
      Last edited by Siecho; 04-02-09 at 11:47 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION