Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 36

    Cant take this slow speed any more

    This is a discussion on Cant take this slow speed any more within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; what you did is classed as hijacking - if you have an issue it's better to start your own thread ...

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: At my wits end

      what you did is classed as hijacking - if you have an issue it's better to start your own thread as you'll get a better response...

      also, NO NEED TO SHOUT!!! basic forum etiquette...
      Last edited by Saturday; 04-02-09 at 11:23 AM. Reason: Post moved from "At my wits end" thread
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Cant take this slow speed any more

      As IANTE and Googleme have said this is DLM in action, but the question is why has it reduced your speed? now as you had the same problem with Orange, the commom factor would appear to be your line, I know you said you conntacted BT and they sent out techs, but they would have only delt with the voice side of things, not broadband.
      Can you give some details of how you are connected, number of extensions if any, that sort of thing.

    4. #13
      ja5on's Avatar
      ja5on is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cant take this slow speed any more

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      As IANTE and Googleme have said this is DLM in action, but the question is why has it reduced your speed? now as you had the same problem with Orange, the commom factor would appear to be your line, I know you said you conntacted BT and they sent out techs, but they would have only delt with the voice side of things, not broadband.
      Can you give some details of how you are connected, number of extensions if any, that sort of thing.


      as far as im aware we only have a one line in the whole house and its runnin directly into that....thanx for taking the time to read it correctly unlike some ppl ....

    5. #14
      ja5on's Avatar
      ja5on is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cant take this slow speed any more

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      '...also i've only been with sky 2 and half weeks this has been a problem for a year and a half...'

      that makes no sense...you've been with them 2 weeks and a year and a half??

      read this...

      What Is DLM? Everything you need to know.


      if you had actually taken the time to read my orignal post you would know it makes perfect sense ....I HAD THE PROBLEM WITH ORANGE FIRST AND LEFT THEM BECAUSE OF IT BUT NOW WITH SKY ITS STILL THE SAME.....

      please if you cant help me i would like you to stop posting im only trying to get help

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Cant take this slow speed any more

      Ja5on.
      "as far as I am aware" is not really good enough (sorry dont mean to sound stroppy) you need to check that there are no extensions, in use or not, that are connected to the line.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Cant take this slow speed any more

      Phone Sky, late evening after 10.30, and ask them to remove the cap from your line. With the cap removed you should see 4Mb. In saying that, you line seems to have issues or it would not have been capped by the automatic process, it may become unstable and drop the connection frequently.

      If you switched your router off frequently during the 'training' period, it could be that DLM has seen this as instability and capped your line accordingly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      ja5on's Avatar
      ja5on is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cant take this slow speed any more

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Ja5on.
      "as far as I am aware" is not really good enough (sorry dont mean to sound stroppy) you need to check that there are no extensions, in use or not, that are connected to the line.

      ok so i have followed it all back the socket my net and phone come from run back to the front door where it attaches to another box but this box has no holes or anywhere to plug things in i have taken the faceplate of and there is no test socket i know when BT techs have been out the do noise tests from that box but they do it by attaching single wires ........

    9. #18
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Cant take this slow speed any more

      You said in a previous post that a BT tech had fitted a filter faceplate. this then is the only telephone socket in your home? If you have the router pluged in there (no plug in extensions) and the phone is quiet (no background noise other than a low hiss when you dial a single digit to kill the dial tone) then it looks like it's back to Sky.

    10. #19
      ja5on's Avatar
      ja5on is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cant take this slow speed any more

      ok brian69 so should i try calling them now.... and go with what i know... or should i take the advice of others and call after 22:30 ??

    11. #20
      UseLess's Avatar
      UseLess is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Demon
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      North East UK
      Posts
      248
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Cant take this slow speed any more

      Greetings,

      If you've had the problem for a while then I would give this: DACS FAQ a read. There's also a link in there to a checker which will tell you if your line has been split.
      Quote:
      Life is like a toilet roll, the closer you get to the end the faster it goes....

      SkyUser Pinger | Password Generator | Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION