Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 59

    Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

    This is a discussion on Stupid wiring / Broadband stats within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi again My previous thread about my messy wiring did'nt really get me anywhere But this time I've got some ...

    1. #1
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      Hi again
      My previous thread about my messy wiring did'nt really get me anywhere
      But this time I've got some pictures to help you.
      As mentioned before around 15 years ago BT installed a junction box (pictured below) and I am 90% sure this is the cause of my intermitent and slow connection, as you can see, there's the external wiring coming in, then an extension cable (installed by BT) and then another cable going back outside to the Master Box.
      My main question is, will BT sort this out for free if I tell them I have a noisy line (which is true)?
      If not my other question is, recently my router syncs at 378 kbps and will not sync any higher, and since 2pm today it's been syncin at 66kbps, which is terrible, can sky doind anything about this, taking into consideration the messy junction box? p.s my upstream noise margin is 2147483647 db, it really makes no sense. here's my stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 66 kbps 68 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 5 db 2147483647 db

      thanks in advance
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Stupid wiring / Broadband stats-img_1298.jpg   Stupid wiring / Broadband stats-img_1295.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      jesus james... those stats are a world record... havent ever seen stats like tht..

      hmm well i suggest you get your parents onto phoning the post office to get a bt engineer...

      are any phones crackly?

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      it's cause you called in and are on test speed...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      aha all the phones are crackly, the fun in this is actually getting my parents to phone.
      what we're all worried about is, will they charge us?
      'cos after a lot of long browsing (cos of the s**t speed) I found out that that box (the one that's pictured) is before the masterbox thus making it the property of BT (yes, I know I shouldn't have opened it). but knowing BT they'll blame it on us, just look at it and you can see it's hardly modern. I reckon the egineer cross wired it, seeing that it was 15+ years ago before broadband it wouldn't have mattered. And yeah, that is a record lol. normally it's 22db

    6. #5
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      yeah, test speed, it makes sense. when I phoned in yesterday though, it went onto 378, then 66, and hasnt gone up. even before i phoned in it was on 378

      p.s

      the noise margin was like that before the call too

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      As a quick fix, check that all the connections in the box are tight, it looks a bit damp so a squirt of WD40 will do no harm, also check connections on all sockets.
      Openreach may sort this for you, or they may just cure the line noise and leave it at that it depends who you get.

    8. #7
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      WD40 where? In the hole where the cable comes in?

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      All over the open junction box, check connections are tight first

    10. #9
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      yeah, well that's what's causing me trouble, I reckon wires A and B have been wierd the wrong way around, fine for analogue phoning but not so good for digital adsl

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      It does not matter which way round the incomming line connects to A and B, Do you have a NTE-5 master ?

     

     
    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION