Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
    Results 51 to 59 of 59

    Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

    This is a discussion on Stupid wiring / Broadband stats within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It may be, but the reason they asked is because you told them the fault was intermittant. if you had ...

    1. #51
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      It may be, but the reason they asked is because you told them the fault was intermittant. if you had a test socket they would have asked you to check from it to see if the fault lay in your own wiring. Without a test socket, you cannot disconnect your extension wiring and it is the responsibilty of Openreach to repair the problem. One thing is now certain, you will end up with a new master for sure.
      Whoever called you was doing a good job and looking after your interest. If you had a test socket, and the fault lay on your extension wiring, then they would have had little option but to charge for a visit, and whoever called was just trying to avoid you getting an unecessary bill. But you have no test socket so dont worry.
      Last edited by Brian69; 07-02-09 at 02:30 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      Thanks for reassuring me, again

      Today I noticed that the huge cable that leads from underground up the BT wooden pole thingy is slighty cut open 'cos the metal protector thing isnt on it, when Openreach see me shall I mention that too?

    4. #53
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      Yes, but do it if the situation arises, let the Openreach tech get in the door and have a chat with them and then point it out. You dont want to appear to be making a fetish out of this, it's just a noisy line so let them fix it in their own way
      For whats it's worth, I doubt it will have any effect on your line.

    5. #54
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      thanks again

    6. #55
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      HI, the Openreach Engineer came today and agreed that there was noise on the line (thank God). He said he replaced the wires in that junction box and on the pole thingy. Now that my internet is constant I'm thinking of upgrading package. Can you tell me how fast I can go cos I know I'm capped. Thanks in advance.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47 db 29 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 23 db

    7. #56
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      I would say at least double your present speed, maybe more

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #57
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      Cool, thanks

    9. #58
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      Hmm, my Noise Margin has been fluctuating from around 22db back to 14db
      I'm thinking of upgrading, and because of the change I don't know what speed I can get

    10. #59
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      If your noise margin is moving between 14 and 22 that is quite a difference. However even at the lower margin, your speed will more than double. With the higher margin it would triple, but a difference like this indicates that there is still noise on your line so you would be capped down. Either way Mid will be much faster than you have and give you a download/upload limit of 40Gb. I would not recommend Max as your line is just not up to giving you a high speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION