Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 59

    Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

    This is a discussion on Stupid wiring / Broadband stats within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; are you 100% sure they won't charge? Provided the fault is on the BT side of the Master socket, if ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      are you 100% sure they won't charge?
      Provided the fault is on the BT side of the Master socket, if it is in your extensions, if you have any, you will be charged. If you don't have extensions, you have nothing to worry about. It is BT's policy, when you report a fault, to tell you you will be charged if they find no fault in their line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      HI, again.
      I found out that the extension socket is in fact the master socket, and that the junction box that's pictured is definately before it.
      I opened up the new found master box to find an orange wire in there which i very happily disconnected, now I've synced at 1568kbps but as I write this my noise margin is slowly decreasing so I'm gonna disconnect soon. Thankfully it's taking longer to disconnect than it used to.
      New stats if you want them:


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1568 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 2.9 db 24.0 db

      Anyone got any ideas about what to do with this noise margin?
      thanks in advance

    4. #23
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      Does the master socket have a test socket beneath it? if so connect in there and try again.

    5. #24
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      nope its a non NTE5

    6. #25
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      Quote Originally Posted by James C View Post
      nope its a non NTE5
      jeez so its a 1980's socket....which needs to be replaced mate...

    7. #26
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      Ahah, and how much would this cost?

    8. #27
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      BT will charge around 150 if there isnt a fault. Or of course you could DIY for about 10which breaches BTs T&Cs.

    9. #28
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      the problem is, the junction box is sooo outdated that sometimes the noise on the line is unbearable (even when the router is off) and well they're not providing me with service I pay for.

    10. #29
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      Then report the line noise to whoever you pay your line rental to. Openreach will fix this fault, but it may not need the box or master to be replaced

    11. #30
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stupid wiring / Broadband stats

      will they tell me in advance that they may have to charge?

     

     
    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION