Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Moving from mid to max package...

    This is a discussion on Moving from mid to max package... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am currently on the Mid package. I get speeds of around 6Mb. If I was to upgrade to the ...

    1. #1
      XPUser's Avatar
      XPUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas (EMSTBBS)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moving from mid to max package...

      I am currently on the Mid package. I get speeds of around 6Mb. If I was to upgrade to the Max package, will my speed remain at 6Mb, or will it increase?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Moving from mid to max package...

      they will stay at 6Mb, they would only go up if you were capped at the maximum for the mid package at 8Mb.

      moving up to Max will give you a higher upload speed and the ability to download the entire internet if you wanted to.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving from mid to max package...

      Post you stats for better advice, but if the maximum you can get on G.DMT is 6MB, you are unlikely to get a lot more on ADSL2+. It depends on how well your line can handle the faster protocol. Some have found the speed/stability is worse on ADSL2+.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Moving from mid to max package...

      Also I doubt they would move the line to ADSL2+ if it is only 6 meg/sec anyways. I would have expected Sky to leave the line on GDMT.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #5
      XPUser's Avatar
      XPUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas (EMSTBBS)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from mid to max package...

      Would I get these stats from logging into the router using the internet browser?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving from mid to max package...

      Log into the router and click the 'Get Statistics' button. Copy and paste from the panel that comes up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      j112's Avatar
      j112 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Montfort (LEICESTER)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from mid to max package...

      instead of creating a new thread, i am thinking about going from MID to max, my question is......... is mid to max an exchange job or is it done through the sky computer system? how long does it take to change from mid to max?

    9. #8
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from mid to max package...

      Very much instantaneous

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving from mid to max package...

      Done by Sky, no exchange visit necessary. You are aware that with you high attenuation you will see no increase in download speed? You only advantage will be a slightly faster upload and unlimited amount of download.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      XPUser's Avatar
      XPUser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas (EMSTBBS)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from mid to max package...

      ok here are my stats

      System Up Time 290:45:45

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6143 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 35.0 db 19.6 db
      Noise Margin 12.0 db 24.0 db


      Thanks for any help

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION