Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    connection problem with one site

    This is a discussion on connection problem with one site within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone. I am having sporadic problems connecting to my own website. Up until about a week ago I had ...

    1. #1
      grumpygit's Avatar
      grumpygit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hertford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      connection problem with one site

      Hi everyone.
      I am having sporadic problems connecting to my own website.

      Up until about a week ago I had no problems.

      I can connect perfectly well to all other sites.

      I have checked with the domain host and they have informed me there is no problem their end.

      I can connect using my computer connected to my neighbours router wireless (i do have his permission)

      Nobody else is having problems connecting to the site, I don't know if any of them are using Sky broadband.

      Most of the time I can connect perfectly, but the problem is getting more frequent and lasting longer.

      Sometimes I can connect but It takes up to 10 minutes to connect, but mostly it just won't connect.

      Sometimes when it does eventually connect, the page is unformatted.

      The problem can last for anywhere between half hour and 6 hours.

      I have spoken to sky technical help and they keep telling me it is not their problem.

      Has anyone experienced anything like this.

      Has anyone got any suggestions to sort it out.

      I am getting desperate as this is stopping me from running my site.

      Thanks
      GG
      Last edited by grumpygit; 26-01-09 at 10:14 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection problem with one site

      delete your temporary internet files, cookies and history and lower your security level on IE to medium, then restore advanced settings. dont know if this will help as your only having problems connecting to one site. try and run a speed test when you are having problems connecting to your site as you said sometimes it will connect but take 10 minutes and your able to access the site via your neighbours router. apart from that i have no idea, i cant imagine sky tech support being able to help.. maybe somebody on here will have other suggestions.

      best of luck anyway, misfit96

    4. #3
      grumpygit's Avatar
      grumpygit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hertford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection problem with one site

      Thanks for your reply.
      I've tried clearing all temp files etc and run ccleaner to make sure. Security is set to low.
      I've tried using 3 different computers (vista, xp and win98) with the same results.
      Speedtest is the same whether I'm having the problem or not.

      I normally use Firefox browser, but I have tried using IE and others with the same results.

      Sky 'tech?' help said it must be a problem with the site host but I can connect to one of my other sites which uses the same host. I think it is a problem with sky, but they are telling me there is no problem.
      Last edited by grumpygit; 27-01-09 at 04:57 PM.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: connection problem with one site

      what's the site?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      grumpygit's Avatar
      grumpygit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hertford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection problem with one site

      http://www.tnthelpforum.com . Not having a problem connecting at the moment but couldn't connect for three hours this morning and about four hours last night. I can contact you via MSN when I next have the problem, if you want me to.
      Last edited by grumpygit; 27-01-09 at 05:27 PM.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: connection problem with one site

      got it here - i am using OpenDNS though...whether this has anything to do with it I don't know...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: connection problem with one site

      Got it OK here using Sky default DNS!

      Could this be some kind of access restriction by the Host. Perhaps a limit on simultaneous logins?

      Oops! Can't be logins, but access to pages?
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    9. #8
      grumpygit's Avatar
      grumpygit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hertford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection problem with one site

      Thanks to all of you for your replies.
      I'm not having the problem at the moment either. Couldn't connect for about 3hrs this morning and about 4hrs last night. Checked the bandwidth allowance on the site and we have only used about 0.1% of the allowance so I don't think its to do with too many page views. I phoned the hosting company to check that there is no restrictions and that the site filters are not set to block any sky IP's and they tell me everything is ok their end.

      It's got me completely stumped.
      Last edited by grumpygit; 27-01-09 at 08:05 PM.

    10. #9
      grumpygit's Avatar
      grumpygit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hertford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection problem with one site

      I am having the problem right now. Can anyone tell me if they can connect to http://www.tnthelpforum.com using sky broadband

      EDIT
      Don't worry it's working again now
      Last edited by grumpygit; 27-01-09 at 08:27 PM.

    11. #10
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: connection problem with one site

      Nothing here, I have the name name index on my tab thats about it

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION