Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 36

    Homeplug questions

    This is a discussion on Homeplug questions within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hey guys i wanna know a few things about homeplugs as wireless is dire... i live in a 1940's/50's concrette ...

    1. #1
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Homeplug questions

      hey guys

      i wanna know a few things about homeplugs as wireless is dire...

      i live in a 1940's/50's concrette house and wifi is poor..

      so basically here are my questions

      whats the normal transfer rate of homeplugs?

      how do they connect to your pc?

      can they be used with consoles such as ps3?

      do they use alot of electric...?

      do you have to keep them on all the time?

      how easy are they to set up?

      Thanks alot
      Sam


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      They really are Plug 'n Play! Some run as fast as 85mbits, almost as fast as ethernet!
      They connect with standard ethernet cables.

      Although I believe you can 'set them up' I never have done. They are left on all the time as we use them for our security camera!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    4. #3
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      They really are Plug 'n Play! Some run as fast as 85mbits, almost as fast as ethernet!
      They connect with standard ethernet cables.

      Although I believe you can 'set them up' I never have done. They are left on all the time as we use them for our security camera!
      thanks geoff mate

      yeah ive got the 834gt in operation but the wifi is lousy through my solid walls..

    5. #4
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      Max Value 85 Mbps Home Plug, Double Unit Pack: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics & Photo

      These any good.

      I have the V2 Netgear Router and a PS3, will these work with them?

      Also, do I need 85mbps or the 200's?

      How much % of ethernet will the 85Mbps recreate?

      I usually download through internet at 1800kbps.

      How quick could those home plugs d/l at?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      Just to fill in the blanks Ned left

      One plug is connected to your router using one of the ethernet ports and the other is connected to your PC ethernet port.

      They can be used with any console that has an ethernet port.

      They use very very little electricity, most of it to light the LEDs.

      There is an option of having a WiFi enabled plug at the PC end, but they are a lot more expensive.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      @gill07
      As the router is rated at 100mbps, getting 200s would be overkill. 85mbps is more than enough to stream HD.

      You should not notice much difference in the download speed as homeplugs are virtually ethernet over the power wires.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      Thanks IsitMe

      Do these look like they'd be okay:

      Max Value 85 Mbps Home Plug, Double Unit Pack: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics & Photo

      And 85Mbps would stream HD fine?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      These look OK and are well priced.

      Streaming HD depends on the compression used MPEG2 needs about 15-20mbps, MPEG4 needs 5-10mbps. So you see 85mbps, is plenty.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      I use mine with a slingbox and although that's not in HD it only need 6meg/sec to achieve a very good picture.

      Avoid netgear as technical support is awful, the 200 meg/sec ones will only be any good to you if you have a gigabit network, so the 85 ones will do you fine.

      Some of them do have utility software to monitor speed etc, but you don't need them as they are the ultimate in plaug and play.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    11. #10
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      OK I guess is as good as it gets for them ones then..

      Anyone got any recommendations that you would say are good/great?

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION