Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 36

    Homeplug questions

    This is a discussion on Homeplug questions within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks Pete, glad you're onto a winner with those. I ordered the D-Link's from Amazon this morning, and ordered Express ...

    1. #21
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      Thanks Pete, glad you're onto a winner with those.

      I ordered the D-Link's from Amazon this morning, and ordered Express Delivery, so they'll be here in the morning, they've never let me down before.

      Will let you know how I get on with the D-Link's tomorrow.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      You could buy another homeplug with the wireless access point on it (a little aerial), that will extend the range for your laptop to any room/area it is plugged into. You could even run it to a shed or in the garden and surf happy.

    4. #23
      pete.i's Avatar
      pete.i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01757
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Freesat/etc
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      Yes I know that Smithy but I didn't buy them for my laptop which does use a wireless connection. Thanks for the heads up anyway.

      To be honest Wireless networking is total and utter pants. The only thing it does have going for it is that it does away with ethernet cables as far as a laptop is concerned. My personal opinion is that if your gonna have a laptop then there is not a lot of point in tying it down with various cables and such. I like the quirky lil ole touch pad you get with them cos I don't have to use a mouse wired or otherwise, I like the fact that the monitor is part and parcel of the overall package even though it's small, I like the tiny tiny keypad even with my big two fingered typing BUT and it's a big BUT only for the portability. Otherwise a tied down desktop with loadsa wires hanging out the back will outperform any laptop.

      The main problem with wireless, is that as the signal strength goes down the wireless card will adjust the speed of the connection downwards to try to keep the wireless link stable. My laptop says my wireless is working at 108Mbps but it lies through it's hairy teeth because it also says that my signal strength is low so there is no way it is running at that speed. But it is convenient and that's the best that can be said for wireless.

      Donkey's yonks ago I used to work with wireless links that transmitted a half watt at 2.4 Mhz. the frequency that wireless networking works at. we had a link that went over an estuary and when the tide was in we had a 100 per cent link. when the tide went out the link dropped out. Summer was murder cos when the trees grew leaves we had to go out and move antennas to maintain the signal path. Terrible terrible frequency and terrible terrible reliability because of the low power and the working frequency of 2.4 Mhz. Mind you as the frequency rises so "line of sight" problems become exaserpated so what we really need is wireless networking working down on the old long wave frequencies and a couple of mega watts of power. Bright red glowing out valves (yes valves I am that old LOL) I always found worked wonders.

    5. #24
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      Ah valves, you just cannot beat a set of 6550's running in class A. sound lovely. As for wireless links, agree all the way.

    6. #25
      pete.i's Avatar
      pete.i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01757
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Freesat/etc
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      Gordon bennet Brian you must be as ancient as me. Haven't done much with valve biasing for years and years (for those of you not as old us note the difference in spelling Bias not bios LOL)

    7. #26
      AFK_Matrix's Avatar
      AFK_Matrix is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      Just thought I would put my 2p's worth in and sorry if this has been said before. I too got the homeplug set and to begin with had difficulty in getting them to work as I was getting very slow internet speeds. So I phoned their support line and they suggested that I should plug it into an empty socket and voila it all worked. What was happening was the plug was getting interferance from the surge protector I had plugged into the socket next to my homeplug. This may also happen if you have mobile phone chargers etc plugged next to your homeplug. So if you can plug it into a socket on its own.
      Last edited by AFK_Matrix; 28-01-09 at 05:26 PM.

    8. #27
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      As with most things, every installation is a bit different and trial and error should see you get the best out of them eventually, mine run fine connected to a twin socket with the other one being used to power a strip plug with all my other PC equipment connected to it.

      I think they are a great soloution and beat wireless hands down.

    9. #28
      AFK_Matrix's Avatar
      AFK_Matrix is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      Oh I am not saying anything against them as it was great when I got them as my wifi was rubbish!! Just saying if you have plugged everything in and your internet is still dead slow (mine was taking like 5mins to load a page!!) then try the homeplug in a socket on its own.

    10. #29
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      I have both a phone charger and a battery charger using the same power strip as my Netgear homeplugs. Doesn't cause any problems at all!
      It all depends on the quality of each houses's electrics and there is no blanket 'once size fits all' answer!
      I also use a mobile phone within 1 metre of my wifi router and they do not cause problems with each other!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    11. #30
      AFK_Matrix's Avatar
      AFK_Matrix is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Homeplug questions

      It was only a bit of friendly advice mate calm down. I just had this problem with my homeplug and it was just a bit of advice if he had the same issue. I wasn't saying this would happen with all homplugs etc.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION