Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Margin/Cable Condition

    This is a discussion on Margin/Cable Condition within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My O2 Pro ADSL2 line will be enabled on the 30th apparantly. Im getting between 7 and 11db margin at ...

    1. #1
      matthewprince's Avatar
      matthewprince is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad SkyHD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Margin/Cable Condition

      My O2 Pro ADSL2 line will be enabled on the 30th apparantly. Im getting between 7 and 11db margin at peak times.

      Will i be able to get the 19mb o2 estimate i can get due to my 24db attenuation?

      If i cant get that due to the line margin noise then it has to be because of the old twin grey cable drop line outside as i have moved the master socket today and wired direct into it from the external cabe.

      How could i get bt to come out and swap the old grey cable for new stuff?

      It seems unfair if i cant get that speed due to bts old crappy wiring.

      Matt


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      You cant get them out for free ,
      And there is not much your internet provider can do due to the fact its UP TO **Mbps

      How ever if you were to ask BT to come out you looking to get a nice bill of up to 150

      I guess if there was a small cut in the line and this caused the line not to work this mite get BT out and get it replaced for free

    4. #3
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      Quote Originally Posted by Steven_Belfast View Post
      You cant get them out for free ,
      And there is not much your internet provider can do due to the fact its UP TO **Mbps

      How ever if you were to ask BT to come out you looking to get a nice bill of up to 150

      I guess if there was a small cut in the line and this caused the line not to work this mite get BT out and get it replaced for free
      Quite true...

    5. #4
      matthewprince's Avatar
      matthewprince is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad SkyHD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      Talking hypothetically of course , if someone had a dropline coming to the house about a foot off the window , how could someone cause a nick in the wire without it being traced by a bt engineer?

      Matt

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      I think you might find that if it isn't pinned securely then it might rub against the brickwork or a tree branch in the wind - as an example. So, maybe not a cut but an abrasion.

    7. #6
      matthewprince's Avatar
      matthewprince is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad SkyHD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      Mine has no trees in the way and is pinned to the house perfectly! I spose somebody could reach as much as they could to try and cut just one of the wires in the twin grey if they wanted to.

      If doing so wasnt a crime of course

      Matt

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      The BT engineer would spot a clean cut with no trouble and you'd have a hard job convincing BT that it wasn't you that did it. Which would cost you a fair bit to get it fixed.

      Still, this is all hypothetical and probably no of relevance to you as you've not been connected to O2 yet so can't tell what impact your old drop cable may or may not have. Old cable doesn't necessarily mean bad.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      Matt, if you are going to another ISP, it may be better to leave things as they are, rather than maybe cause yourself problems with BT. If you do have problems, I think you will find the the new ISP will go the extra yard to get you a good connection, which Sky will not. Most ISPs seem to have a better relationship with BT than Sky does.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      There is no guarantee that your existing overhead line is the cause of your low noise margin. It is true that a new overhead would consist of twisted pair cable, but the parallel twin that you have at the moment is not that much worse at noise rejection.

    11. #10
      matthewprince's Avatar
      matthewprince is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad SkyHD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      Hi,

      Well since the move of the master socket its almost permenantly on 10-11db noise margin , even at peak ,busy times.

      thats alot better than 7db as it was before.

      Matt

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION