Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Margin/Cable Condition

    This is a discussion on Margin/Cable Condition within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well thats good then, but I don't understand what the point of your post was. If you have a constant ...

    1. #11
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      Well thats good then, but I don't understand what the point of your post was. If you have a constant noise margin of 10-11dB even at night you should get a good result with O2


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      matthewprince's Avatar
      matthewprince is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad SkyHD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      Your attitude towards me has changed ever since i said i was leaving for O2.

      Never Mind

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      Well I think that is a bit unfair. You asked if moving your master socket closer to your computer was a good idea, the answer was yes and I gave you the best advice I could to enable you to do it with little chance of you being stuck halfway through with no phone and having to call out BT!!.
      With reguard to your overhead line, if I am not giving you the answers you would like to hear, I'm sorry but there is no guarantee that a replacement would improve your noise margin, and if you damage the line in an attempt to get it replaced you may get a big bill!!. As to your ISP, that is your concern not mine, i don't have any problem with whoever you choose.

    5. #14
      matthewprince's Avatar
      matthewprince is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad SkyHD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      Brian,

      Ive got better things to do than fall out with you. If you look back at your posts until the time i said im going to O2 , your posts instantly got less friendly. Whatever issues you have with that then its your issue not mine.

      Matt

    6. #15
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      Quote Originally Posted by matthewprince View Post
      Well since the move of the master socket its almost permenantly on 10-11db noise margin , even at peak ,busy times.
      Sort of. If your noise margin is permanently above the default of 6.9db, even following a reboot, then that's a pretty good indication that your connection is capped, or you're at the limit for your package.

      When you move to O2 their default noise margin is 6db. That's going to give you 4-5db margin to claw back (allowing for different router measurements) so you can expect a sync somewhere around 2-3 meg higher than your current Sky sync.

    7. #16
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      He's on mid so it's a cap of 8 meg/sec with an attenuation of 24 db he should see a connection of excess 15 meg/sec unless there is a problem with the internal stuff and we won't know until O2 goes live on the line.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    8. #17
      matthewprince's Avatar
      matthewprince is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Amstrad SkyHD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      o2 quote a sync of 19mb , so if my noise margin stacks up i should theoretically get that shouldnt i?

      Matt

    9. #18
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Margin/Cable Condition

      No, I don't think you're entirely clear what the noise margin signifies. It is just a measure of the margin the router has given itself between noise and signal. Although directly related to line noise, it's not at all the same thing.

      Your sync speed with O2, just as with Sky, will be entirely dependent on 4 things:
      • your attenuation
      • your line noise (not the noise margin you currently have)
      • the ADSL mode you're on
      • the package you're on


      If you're on Sky Mid at the moment (which will be G.DMT) then you'll be moving to ADSL2+. It is absolutely impossible to extrapolate what you will get from what you currently get, other than your attenuation is good so the main barrier to a high speed isn't an issue. What matters next is your line quality (line noise) and that's an unknown.

      As I've said a couple of times now, just wait until you're connected and then worry about your sync speed if and when you need to. Until then you're just getting bothered about an unknown.
      Last edited by Saturday; 26-01-09 at 01:27 AM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION