Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Help with noise margin please

    This is a discussion on Help with noise margin please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello. I have been looking at my routers stats to see if i can improve the connection. They are: Down ...

    1. #1
      pavilion's Avatar
      pavilion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFOL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky hub SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help with noise margin please

      Hello. I have been looking at my routers stats to see if i can improve the connection. They are:

      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.7 13.0
      Attn(dB): 45.0 25.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.4 11.4
      Max(Kbps): 3648 1120
      Rate (Kbps): 3072 768

      which one is my noise margin tho? SNR or Attn. The extras section on my router says its set at 6.9! I'm not sure if i can make this better! Can anyone give me any advice?

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Help with noise margin please

      Doesn't look like you're using a Sky router but the figures against SNR are your noise margins.

      In case you're wondering, yes, it looks like your connection is capped and no, you can't change this - you need to call Sky.

      PS you may find the first sticky in my signature below helpful.

    4. #3
      pavilion's Avatar
      pavilion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFOL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky hub SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with noise margin please

      thanks. Its a V1 834gt router, why on earth would i be capped tho? Im on MAX and im not a heavy downloader.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Help with noise margin please

      This isn't anything to do with heavy downloaders - this is a cap on sync speed not on throughput. Sky cap sync though DLM or manually if you contact them about a connection issue (well sometimes, any issue actually).

      Give them a call, go through T1 low speed troubleshooting and then get through to CST. They'll uncap you in less than a minute, trouble is, may take you an hour to get to them. Call late at night as the queues are shorter.
      Last edited by Saturday; 23-01-09 at 11:58 PM. Reason: added sync cap explanation

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help with noise margin please

      If you have an 'Extras' section you must have installed the CU firmware or possibly something similar, you don't get that option with standard Sky firmware. The Target noise margin is so you can set it higher to make your connection slower, but more stable. 6.9dbs is the default, setting it lower may enable you to connect faster, but with a less stable connection.

      As Saturday says, call late, after 10.30 and you have a better chance of getting through. Also try plugging into your Test socket, with your attenuation you should get 7-8Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Help with noise margin please

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      6.9dbs is the default, setting it lower may enable you to connect faster, but with a less stable connection.
      But in case pavilion isn't aware, if capped, you can't lower the noise margin yourself.

    8. #7
      pavilion's Avatar
      pavilion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFOL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky hub SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with noise margin please

      Thanks for all the replies! I rang Sky, and they had a look, and they could see that there was a cap from a previous issue, which they then removed for me. It didn't make a whole lot of difference, but i'm now at around 3.5meg instead of around the 3 mark, as this is apparently all my line can handle. I believe Sky on this, as my previous ISP's have all said the same thing, as did the BT checker that was on the wholesale website at some point, plus i live out in the sticks aswell. It has got better tho! it used to be only able to handle 1meg! lol

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Help with noise margin please

      Quote Originally Posted by pavilion View Post
      i'm now at around 3.5meg instead of around the 3 mark, as this is apparently all my line can handle. I believe Sky on this
      If you're happy with the speed then that's all that matters - but your stats show you should be able to achieve a fair bit more than that.

    10. #9
      pavilion's Avatar
      pavilion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFOL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky hub SR-102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help with noise margin please

      really? How much more? What exactly should I say to Sky lol any technical stuff i should tell them lol

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Help with noise margin please

      Maybe another meg or so, but much depends on your own phone line set-up so before you contact Sky again, could you provide us with some details. Are you connected to the master socket? do you have any extensions? that sort of thing.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION