Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Lost all my settings

    This is a discussion on Lost all my settings within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; okay so we set up our router perfectly with all the mac codes entered in and using WEP security. I ...

    1. #1
      jamiew23's Avatar
      jamiew23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Lost all my settings

      okay so we set up our router perfectly with all the mac codes entered in and using WEP security.

      I don't know what happened but went on the internet today and nothing would connect, checked the router and all the settings have gone back to defaults???

      I turned off the router at night as we don't use it then, could this be why its done this?

      And if so how can i make it so when the router is switched off and then on again the settings are saved and everything still works??

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Lost all my settings

      I had this problem with a Billion router. Like me you have forgotten to save your set-up

    4. #3
      jamiew23's Avatar
      jamiew23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost all my settings

      how do you save your setup?

      I applied it and thought that was it? :S

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Lost all my settings

      If you say which router it is I'm sure someone can help you

    6. #5
      jamiew23's Avatar
      jamiew23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost all my settings

      Netgear V1 DG834GT i think its the newest one

      Only got it a couple of days ago

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Lost all my settings

      Supplied by Sky? If so, it is possible the firmware has been updated and this caused the loss of settings.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      jamiew23's Avatar
      jamiew23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost all my settings

      yeah its supplied by sky so could be a suppose.

      Lets hope it doesn't update lots that means i'll have to keep entering the mac codes over and over again!

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Lost all my settings

      It should not, but there were instances reported where the SSID and/or network key were changed. MAC addresses/codes will not change no matter how many updates are done. Check at the top of the router status page it should show -
      Account Name
      Firmware Version V1.03.87

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION