Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 28

    Confused: throttling or just useless?

    This is a discussion on Confused: throttling or just useless? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As i have all ready said if you are being capped and you are not downloading more than 1.5 to ...

    1. #11
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation re: Confused: throttling or just useless?

      As i have all ready said if you are being capped and you are not downloading more than 1.5 to 2 Gig a day this is some thing that sky need to look in to,
      As this could be a fault with the virtual path or exchange overcrowding ,

      If you feel that you are being capped and are not downloading much than all you have to do it run the speed tests at speedtester.bt.com over 48 hours and then call sky ,

      They can see the test finding and also check you download amounts and if needed log a fault to BT ,

      This is why sky ask for these speedtests to be done if they log a fault to bt for slow speeds or end user poor performance these tests must be run before hand .

      I am not saying that 3 Gig a month is fair far from it and in your case i would not put up with this .


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      paulo de muchi's Avatar
      paulo de muchi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fulham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Confused: throttling or just useless?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      might be stuck IP profile...

      go to speedtester.bt.com
      enter your phone number
      for username enter the mac address on the bottom of your router and add @skydsl to the end - e.g. 002245D6H3S2@skydsl
      post the results

      then we can make final comment
      I think a little bumperoo is due. Doesn't seem like the OP has had chance to post his stats. However, I'm also on the Fulham exchange, on the Connect package due to no capacity. The exchange has been LLU'd.

      I'm less than 0.7 miles from the exchange. All microfilters in place so everything should be tip-top.

      I am been horrendously throttled to about 500kbps each night, its marginally better this eve but fluctuates all the time. I've been on Sky BB for about 20 days. Originally I was syncing at about 4400kbps. This has now fallen to 3008kbps.

      Detailed stats are below. I've also posted by results from speedtester.bt.com.

      So my question is, what the hell is going on, is my IP Profile stuck? Is fulham exchange basically crap? How can my sync speed be so poor when my SNR seems good as my attenuation (33db)

      Anything you guys can tell me about whats below would be awesome. Some elements i understand, some I don't.

      Cheers very much for all your time, its really appreciated how people are willing to give up their own time to help others!

      Before i forget, with regards to usage, no more than 3GB a month. General browsing, thats about it. And they're doing me for 10 a month!


      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3008 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.9 20.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 22.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 11.7
      Max(Kbps): 3328 1072
      Rate (Kbps): 3008 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 95(0) 15
      R: 16 8
      S: 2 8
      D: 16 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 95 15
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 8
      S: 2.1666 8.5000
      L: 768 128
      D: 16 4
      Counters
      SF: 4805844 4805856
      SFErr: 2 0
      RS: 163398708 40848773
      RSCorr: 4273 0
      RSUnCorr: 21 0

      HEC: 2 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 579603149 0
      Data Cells: 1080123 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 2 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 13 0
      AS: 81700

      INP: 1.33 1.00
      PER: 1.89 1.85
      delay: 8.66 8.50
      OR: 29.53 30.11

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 22 hours 41 min 58 sec
      SF = 4805844
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 1 day time = 22 hours 41 min 58 sec
      SF = 4805844
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 58 sec
      SF = 42185
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52982
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52923
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52982
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3008 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.0 db 22.0 db
      Noise Margin 11.1 db 20.0 db


      SPEEDTESTER.BT RESULTS:

      Your DSL connection rate: 3008 kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP profile for your line is - 2500 kbps
      Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 1382 kbps
      Last edited by paulo de muchi; 22-01-09 at 10:00 PM.

    4. #13
      mailliw's Avatar
      mailliw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRPGRN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U w/Tomato 1.28
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Confused: throttling or just useless?

      Sorry for the late reply. Am away from home at the moment. These are the speedtests I did a couple of weeks ago.

      6pm

      Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
      Your DSL connection rate: 7680 kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP profile for your line is - 6500 kbps
      Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 2800 kbps

      1am

      Your DSL connection rate: 7936 kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP profile for your line is - 6500 kbps
      Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 3966 kbps

      8am

      Your DSL connection rate: 7680 kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 kbps(UP-STREAM)
      IP profile for your line is - 6500 kbps
      Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 6006 kbps

      All the other tests I've done failed or were ridiculously slow. As I said in the first post, my original syncing speed has dropped from 7-8mb to 6ish.

      paulo de muchi - thanks for your post, and it's interesting you've had exactly the same problem at Fulham. Now that I've got quite a few BT speed tests I just need to get through to Sky (tried seven different times last week without luck).

      Both of our stats seem fine, so perhaps there's a serious fault in Fulham?

      Will

    5. #14
      paulo de muchi's Avatar
      paulo de muchi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fulham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Confused: throttling or just useless?

      Hmm, weird. My connection speed is considerably crapper than yours, anyone have any rhyme or reason behind this. Neither of us should be chuffed with the situation but if I could get anywhere near up to your connection speed I'd be less agitated at the whole situation.

      Will: I posted this in another post. Its basically BT openreach exchange availability report. It makes reference to the fact that Fulham is now re-open to new connections. It was recently placed on restricted availability as West Ken exchange was shut down and all the kit from there moved to Fulham.

      To what extent this has f*cked our situation up I don't know, either way I'm really tiring of having to think up every which way out of this poor service we're now receiving. What i find most amusing as I've moved recently and was previously on parsons green exchange, 7mb, everynight, easy peasy.

      cheers

      paul

    6. #15
      mailliw's Avatar
      mailliw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRPGRN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U w/Tomato 1.28
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Confused: throttling or just useless?

      Paul. Those stats I posted were from Jan 7/8 and although they looked good, it was only ever sporadic. I was downloading at no more than 50kbps, and most of the time at 30kbps, during afternoons and evenings (whenever I got home from work, basically)

      I'd heard about the West Ken exchange being moved to Fulham. Now that they're open to new connections, we both should be automatically moved across to Sky's equipment. But whether this will actually help, I don't know. Is our problem Fulham, BT, or Easynet/Sky? I'm just hoping it's a bottleneck with BT, and Sky's Connect package, and when we're moved to Mid/Max it'll be proper, unlimited, unthrottled broadband. I don't mind if I don't always get 600kbps - just a reliable connection at 200 would be fine!

      Keep me updated if you hear anything

    7. #16
      paulo de muchi's Avatar
      paulo de muchi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fulham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Confused: throttling or just useless?

      Not entirely sure where the problem is. Basically it is LLU'd so there is Sky kit in there. However I dont know whether the problem is lack of capacity on Sky's installed kit, or that BT still have a order on the place stopping providers moving people around and they can only be provided via BT's ADSL Max (Connect) service.

      I guess we'll never know anyways. The bottom line is if you check availability with Tiscali, O2, Sky any of the LLU'd providers, they're all out of capacity and only able to offer their equivalent Connect-esque packages. Coincidence? I dunno.

      I've registered to be notified via O2's website as to when they have capacity and can offer me a normal Mid/Max type service so thats my current measure of keepin an eye on proceedings.

      Will let you know if I hear anything. BT's exchange report is updated this evening so I'd check back their to see if there's any reference to Fulham.

      Cheers all

      Paul

    8. #17
      mailliw's Avatar
      mailliw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRPGRN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U w/Tomato 1.28
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Confused: throttling or just useless?

      We will both be moved over to Mid/Max automatically - that's what Sky told me - but I'd be interested to know how much better (or, god forbid, worse) an LLU'd Sky connection is compared to BT. In theory it ought to bypass BT and hopefully all the throttling, but who knows? Anyone who has recently moved from Connect, can you advise whether it's better (more reliable, faster, insert word here) on Mid/Max?

    9. #18
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Confused: throttling or just useless?

      Have to say LLU is a lot better ,
      As you pointed out there is no capping of throttling ,
      Also if there is any causing connection drop outs this can be seen better as cst and log in to the exchange amd make change with out having to log a fault to BT.

    10. #19
      mailliw's Avatar
      mailliw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRPGRN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U w/Tomato 1.28
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Confused: throttling or just useless?

      Still no improvement. I spoke to Sky, again, but couldn't get past the idiot on the first tier who said they couldn't do anything because I was on Connect. He wasn't willing to speculate when I might be moved onto LLU, then cut me off. Great.

      Anything vaguely intensive is impossible. Youtube? No chance. Downloaded an anti-virus program last night, 50mb, at 23kbps...starting to lose patience.

      Any other Fulham exchange people had any joy moving onto LLU?

    11. #20
      paulo de muchi's Avatar
      paulo de muchi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fulham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Confused: throttling or just useless?

      Quote Originally Posted by mailliw View Post
      Still no improvement. I spoke to Sky, again, but couldn't get past the idiot on the first tier who said they couldn't do anything because I was on Connect. He wasn't willing to speculate when I might be moved onto LLU, then cut me off. Great.

      Anything vaguely intensive is impossible. Youtube? No chance. Downloaded an anti-virus program last night, 50mb, at 23kbps...starting to lose patience.

      Any other Fulham exchange people had any joy moving onto LLU?
      Hey will,

      I've managed to get thro to CST a couple of times. Won't make much difference tho as any changes that are reqd are passed thro to BT as Sky apparently can't touch any of the kit in the Fulham exchange as those on Connect are obviously on BT kit and at the will of them.

      My advice, log onto O2, head to the broadband area. When you put a Fulham number in you'll get a "we are upgrading the capacity of your exchange." Sky seem to not give a damn about keeping you up to date with regards to when they intend to upgrade capacity and so move us over to Mid. So, their loss, as soon as O2 get that work done, which I guess can't be too long away, I'm pulling the trigger and abandoning this disgrace. What's particularly ironic is I'm a BSkyB shareholder!!

      Will keep you updated.

      Cheers

      Paul

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION