Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 60k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Signal Booster

    This is a discussion on Signal Booster within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I was wondering if any one can recommend a signal booster as since I have moved to sky im ...

    1. #1
      ffc's Avatar
      ffc
      ffc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Signal Booster

      Hi I was wondering if any one can recommend a signal booster as since I have moved to sky im unable to get wireless singal in all the rooms in my house.

      Many Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      31,327
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 1,443 Times in 1,415 Posts

      Re: Signal Booster

      If your previous router gave you good coverage, connect it to the Sky router by ethernet and use it's better wireless capabilities.

    4. #3
      ffc's Avatar
      ffc
      ffc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signal Booster

      I was thinking about that but it is a really old router so the speed is really slow so was hoping to keep using the sky but just plug a repeater/booster in around the area that the signal starts to weaken.

    5. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Signal Booster

      I used a Belkin range extender and it was nothing but trouble, it was easy to set up but I had a real job of getting it to synch with the router and when it did although I got a big signal boost, throughput was horrible, I got better speeds just using the 1 bar from the router.

      I'm not trying to put you off, just trying to make you sure that you know what your getting into.

      For the same money as a range extender you could buy a pair of powerline homeplugs (but don't get netgear) so you can have the speed of ethernet anywhere in your home.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      31,327
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 1,443 Times in 1,415 Posts

      Re: Signal Booster

      I agree with 'Adrian, if you don't have an 'N' class router, it is not worth it. Get Homeplugs as suggested.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2012. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO