Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Am I being capped?

    This is a discussion on Am I being capped? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I am currently on the Max package, and for a long while I was getting speeds in excess of ...

    1. #1
      scotsouth's Avatar
      scotsouth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Am I being capped?

      Hi,

      I am currently on the Max package, and for a long while I was getting speeds in excess of 12mb. A while ago I had some problems with connection dropping and speed, and someone from sky capped me at 6mb. It turned out there was a flaky telephone connection which has been resolved.

      I then asked for the cap to be removed, was told I'd get a call back in a couple of days and the cap would be removed, which they called back and said the cap had been removed.

      I have been checking on the stats from the router (black v2) and it shows the following (I'm approx 140mtrs from the exchange) -

      Connection speed DL 8064 kbps Up 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation DL 5db Up 4db
      Noise Margin DL 15 db Up 13 db

      These are pretty consistent figures, the DL for speed being constant no matter when I check the stats.

      Can anyone say if I am being capped at 8mb or is it typical for these figures to remain so constant like this on an uncapped service?

      Hope this makes sense.

      S


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Am I being capped?

      Capped.... sorry to be the bearer of bad news.... you should be getting full whack 16mb

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      re: Am I being capped?

      at least!! on O2, for example, you could get 24Mbps!!!

      although I would check and make sure you're on Max...looks like someone put you on the Mid profile...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      scotsouth's Avatar
      scotsouth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I being capped?

      Quick update,

      Just noticed, when I use the telephone the BB drops! this has only started happening since the cap was supposedly removed!

      Anyone any ideas?

      S

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Am I being capped?

      usually a dodgy dsl cable so if you have a spare give it a try...also, make sure all sockets are filtered correctly...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      scotsouth's Avatar
      scotsouth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I being capped?

      Sent an email to Sky last evening, had an automated response that someone will get back to me soon, still waiting!

      Any idea on time scales for Sky dealing with email queries?

      S

    8. #7
      scotsouth's Avatar
      scotsouth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Austell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I being capped?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      usually a dodgy dsl cable so if you have a spare give it a try...also, make sure all sockets are filtered correctly...
      Changed the dl cables and made sure all the connections were in properly, seems to have done the trick! Ta!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION