Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    is my connection supposed to be so..flaky ?

    This is a discussion on is my connection supposed to be so..flaky ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i've had sky broadband max now for quite a while..i think about 6 months if not more its 12mbit and ...

    1. #1
      Tunnah's Avatar
      Tunnah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      is my connection supposed to be so..flaky ?

      i've had sky broadband max now for quite a while..i think about 6 months if not more
      its 12mbit and absolutely brilliant, i do a lot of large file transfers and 1mb/s isn't unusual

      but the problem is my connection resets at least every 24h, and therefore my IP changes

      this is a major problem because i'm a system administrator and my boxes are firewalled, so its a pain getting a new IP added every time - even adding ranges such as 90.211.* etc. is no good because it changes like 90.21? which is too broad a range to add

      so is the connection supposed to reset this often or is it a problem at my end ? because its very frustrating


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is my connection supposed to be so..flaky ?

      hmm yeah this used to happen to me...post your stats?

    4. #3
      Tunnah's Avatar
      Tunnah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is my connection supposed to be so..flaky ?



      what other stats do you need ?
      connection is 12mbit

    5. #4
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is my connection supposed to be so..flaky ?

      umm noise margin , line attenution?

    6. #5
      Tunnah's Avatar
      Tunnah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is my connection supposed to be so..flaky ?

      Connection Speed 12285 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 17 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 16 db

    7. #6
      Tunnah's Avatar
      Tunnah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is my connection supposed to be so..flaky ?

      and while making this post it disconnected again
      thats 3 disconnections today alone, and now it won't cycle into a useful IP range, so its stopping me working

    8. #7
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is my connection supposed to be so..flaky ?

      right well your Nm does seem a bit high then the default 6.9db

      and the upload does suggest DLM has done something to your line..

      what you need to do is phone sky and report an intermittent connection

    9. #8
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: is my connection supposed to be so..flaky ?

      mine did this to me all the time, you could try and reboot the router at 11-12 pm (midnight) and see if that makes it any more stable as that should synch you on a lower speed with a noise margin that should see you though the day.

      You could also request to be put on GDMT, this will cap your line at 8 meg/sec and give you a lot more line stability.

      OR as other people will tell you Sky isn't meant to be used for working (even though the UK government is trying to get more of us to do this.) and you could shift to another ISP like Be which does have business accounts.

      I'd try the 1st two it's just that you can't mention work to Sky as it's a domestic product only and it's why we moved to O2 as my wife has the ability to work from home and they offered business packages at the time.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    10. #9
      Tunnah's Avatar
      Tunnah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is my connection supposed to be so..flaky ?

      ok cheers mate i'll give that a try

    11. #10
      Tunnah's Avatar
      Tunnah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: is my connection supposed to be so..flaky ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Undecided Adrian View Post
      mine did this to me all the time, you could try and reboot the router at 11-12 pm (midnight) and see if that makes it any more stable as that should synch you on a lower speed with a noise margin that should see you though the day.

      You could also request to be put on GDMT, this will cap your line at 8 meg/sec and give you a lot more line stability.

      OR as other people will tell you Sky isn't meant to be used for working (even though the UK government is trying to get more of us to do this.) and you could shift to another ISP like Be which does have business accounts.

      I'd try the 1st two it's just that you can't mention work to Sky as it's a domestic product only and it's why we moved to O2 as my wife has the ability to work from home and they offered business packages at the time.
      i moved from 8mbit pipex with a static IP to sky for the faster speeds because 8mbit was too slow

      its generally fine for work, when it first started i'd get 4-5 days without a disconnection and my range would always stay in the 2 i'm allowed to add to the boxes

      its just lately its got worse and worse
      i'd be happy with a week long connection, although generally should get more than that anyway with broadband

      i'd move to another ISP but the speeds and lack of FUP make sky unbelievable, i usually download 1-2tb/month

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION