Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Lost 3mb

    This is a discussion on Lost 3mb within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Been on Sky Max for 3 months since moving house, was getting a steady 6mb connection, but last couple of ...

    1. #1
      arnie70's Avatar
      arnie70 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lost 3mb

      Been on Sky Max for 3 months since moving house, was getting a steady 6mb connection, but last couple of days my connection has suddenly dropped to 3mb.

      Any idieas whats caused this and how I can get my speed back??

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Lost 3mb

      Please post router stats, we don't have crystal balls

    4. #3
      arnie70's Avatar
      arnie70 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost 3mb

      Sorry, is this info ok?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3070 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 28.6 db
      Noise Margin 8.6 db 12.0 db

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Lost 3mb

      How is the router connected to the BT line, have you tried in the test socket?

      If you can also post your stats from the test socket it will help to narrow down any internal wiring issues.

    6. #5
      big bob's Avatar
      big bob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCCAR
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Carlisle
      Posts
      266
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost 3mb

      Possibly DLM going by the upstream rate.

    7. #6
      arnie70's Avatar
      arnie70 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost 3mb

      Connected to master socket now, stats here:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3069 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 28.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.2 db 11.5 db

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Lost 3mb

      Quote Originally Posted by arnie70 View Post
      Connected to master socket now, stats here:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3069 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 28.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.2 db 11.5 db
      Is this from the test socket? behind the master faceplate? that's the important one.

      It does look like you have a cap on the line, DLM could have done this.

      You need to plug in to the test socket and get the stats again, then ring Sky to see if you can get the cap lifted.

      You should be getting 6-7Mb with those stats on a good line.

    9. #8
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost 3mb

      possably DLM... your capped at 3mb it seems...

    10. #9
      arnie70's Avatar
      arnie70 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lost 3mb

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Is this from the test socket? behind the master faceplate? that's the important one.

      It does look like you have a cap on the line, DLM could have done this.

      You need to plug in to the test socket and get the stats again, then ring Sky to see if you can get the cap lifted.

      You should be getting 6-7Mb with those stats on a good line.
      Yep, unscrewed faceplate & plugged into socket. Upto about a week ago I was getting a rock solid 6mb. Looks like a call to Sky coming up.

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Lost 3mb

      possibly DLM but it only started 2 months ago so doubt it'll be that...

      test socket stats will show if anything's wrong but attenuation of 49 will be lucky to see more than 5Mbps...unless the line is amazingly good!! I get 5.5Mbps on an attenuation of 46...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION