Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 21 12311 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 204

    Sky speed problems

    This is a discussion on Sky speed problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I hope someone can suggest a solution to my problem, im on sky bb max and im supposed to ...

    1. #1
      mjdj1689's Avatar
      mjdj1689 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky speed problems

      --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

      I hope someone can suggest a solution to my problem, im on sky bb max and im supposed to get 13 meg download speed which I have always got, but in the last few weeks my speed has now dropped to 1.5 meg my upload is 664 according to speedtest.net . I have spoken to sky loads of times and they say the usual stuff and its the same on the test socket.

      If I download a file my speed is 53kbs on average , using a download manager its 225kbs and I have tired bbc Iplayer and its upto 400 but drops all over the place, Im not being limited as I have asked sky , they have put me on another of their servers but this has made no difference, I have my connection via ethernet and its connected to the master socket, I cant understand how I can get upto constant 253 kbs or above using a download manager, and sppedtest.net says I can only get 1.5 meg download , I have tried a different router and its still the same , and my skybox says im getting 13.4 meg into the router any ideas would be helpful thanx


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      Need your router stats from current position and also in the test socket.

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      If you're getting a router sync of 13.4meg but a download speed of only 1.5meg then this is a throughput issue.

      Lots of possible causes but the two main ones are a poor wireless connection and testing with an overloaded test server. You say this connection is ethernet and you say you've tried other speedtest servers so the reason is a little more obscure.

      The other possible reasons can be grouped into one of the following:

      • you're XP and TCP/IP settings are incorrect (run TCPOptimizer but if this is a recent problem and you've not changed your PC settings then I doubt this is the issue - note: not applicable to Vista)
      • you have gross line errors which are causing a great deal of data retransmission (not likely as your sync is good)
      • you have a hardware issue (router, network card etc)
      • you have a "benign" app running in background using bandwidth (e.g. Sky Player, BBCi etc)
      • someone else is using your bandwidth (e.g. someone on the LAN or rarely a wireless hijack)
      • you have malware on your system (run an on-line checker such as f-secure or Panda)
      • you have a firewall or similar app which is misbehaving
      • you're the first person on Sky LLU to be throttled
      • your exchange has problems


      Your post isn't entirely clear as you're mixing download speeds with "my skybox says". One is throughput, the other is sync. Not the same thing and I'm now wondering whether you actually mean your sync has dropped from 13.4 to 1.5. In which case disregard the above.


      Post your router stats (sync, attenuation and noise margin) as Smithy requested as these may give further clues.
      Last edited by Saturday; 12-01-09 at 12:27 PM.

    5. #4
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      Again, another throughput issue.

      Makes me thing either they're throttling hugely on LLU, there are multiple errors on their equipment at the exchange.

      Or possibly errors throughout the Sky network.

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      I still have no problems maxing out my 16mb line to the full. So it cannot be something right across the network. I wonder if there is a problem in the exchange, a duff card or something.

      Have you checked your router logs to see if it being disconnected or losing authentication under load?

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by gill07 View Post
      Makes me thing either they're throttling hugely on LLU
      I have seen no evidence of this, on the LLU network.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      After PM'ing Noikz, the other with the throughput issue, it appears the problem may be geographical.

      It seems the ALSAGER, KIDSGROVE, and WILLASTON exchanges have been affected.

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      Not showing on the Easynet status portal but that's not unusual

      It's an indictment of Sky's attitude to their customers that they don't have a status page of their own let alone one that gives any useful info.

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by gill07 View Post
      After PM'ing Noikz, the other with the throughput issue, it appears the problem may be geographical.

      It seems the ALSAGER, KIDSGROVE, and WILLASTON exchanges have been affected.
      I have just checked with someone that I know who would know if it was showing on an internal service status. None of those areas are showing any issues. Although that does not explain the current issues.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #10
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      Okay, with Sky providing such a 'cut-price' LLU, anyone think they may have cut corners on costs, and this is showing now with the throughput issues as this may be faulty or knackered Sky equipment.

      Had Sky LLU since it's launch at my exchange, Noikz are you the same?

     

     
    Page 1 of 21 12311 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION