Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 21 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 204

    Sky speed problems

    This is a discussion on Sky speed problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Please don't keep hitting the quote button when responding to the previous post as you're filling up the page needlessly....

    1. #31
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      Please don't keep hitting the quote button when responding to the previous post as you're filling up the page needlessly.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      No problem, hope we're drawing closer to a conclusion to the problem.

      It appears it may be a problem with the connection to the national Easynet network from the clustered ALSAGER/KIDSGROVE/GOLDENHILL/KIDSGROVE exchanges.

    4. #33
      noikz's Avatar
      noikz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      I'm on the phone to Sky at the moment (I called them as I never received the call I was promised).

      It's incredible just how little even the CST operators know, I've explained the issue about 3-4 times again (even thought all of the details should have been on the fault ticket from yesterday). His solution to the THROUGHPUT problem is that he's now continuosly trying to get my line to synch HIGHER. Regardless of the fact that I've told him that what this line synchs at makes little difference to the throughput I'm seeing.

      I have a funny feeling the only way out of this will be to switch ISP's on this line.

      Update: He had to ask a supervisor what to do, and is now taking me over the exact path I was led yesterday (running speedtests via the www.btopenworld site etc), even after I'd explained I'd already done this several times. After I told him the rate I was getting (30-50KB/s), he's now had to go back to the supervisor to ask what to do but explained that he "doesn't think there's anything they can do about it". Great service.
      Last edited by noikz; 13-01-09 at 04:23 PM.
      Dbox DM7020/Skystar HD + 1.1M Motor (57E-61W) | Dbox DM500 + 90CM Multi-LNB (13/16/19.2/28.2E) | SKY HD 500GB | SKY+ 250GB | Intel C2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz | 8GB Geil | 148GB RAID0 Raptors + 4TB RAID5 Seagates | 8800GTX SLI | Dell 2405FPW

    5. #34
      noikz's Avatar
      noikz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      GOOD NEWS !!!!! Just had a call back from my call earlier today.

      They've admitted there are faults with 4 exchanges, didn't say which but I presume it's those already mentioned (maybe this site can find out more?). He told me (whether it's true or not) that they're updating the system so that tech support reps will know which exchanges are affected to quickly resolve any future calls and also that there are engineers working on the exchanges in question already.

      Put away the straightjacket gill07, we're not cracking up afterall.
      Dbox DM7020/Skystar HD + 1.1M Motor (57E-61W) | Dbox DM500 + 90CM Multi-LNB (13/16/19.2/28.2E) | SKY HD 500GB | SKY+ 250GB | Intel C2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz | 8GB Geil | 148GB RAID0 Raptors + 4TB RAID5 Seagates | 8800GTX SLI | Dell 2405FPW

    6. #35
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      Ahh right! Well that's good news Noikz! Touch wood, it should sort out the throughput issues at the four exchanges listed on here then.

      I hope this is true from Sky, and if so that the exchanges are sorted out quickly and efficiently. Maybe worth running the thread as a progress update until the problem has been resolved or we all change ISP's?

      Haha Thanks for the update Noikz.

    7. #36
      mjdj1689's Avatar
      mjdj1689 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      The guy I spoke to knew what the problem was and he said that it should be sorted within a few days , so I will wait to see what happens, I did get a call back from someone called Gavin and Edward and they were very helpful , they do know the problem exsists now , and I even included this thread in a email back to them , so sky tech do read this forum, lets hope its resolved soon.
      Last edited by mjdj1689; 13-01-09 at 06:36 PM.

    8. #37
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      Okay great, so the problem has been identified as an exchange problem affecting Alsager/Kidsgrove/Goldenhill and Willaton right? I haven't spoke to CST yet so you say they are now aware right?

      So maintenance has been ordered and should be hopefully within 2 weeks max.

      Potentially ending our throughput issues?

      Is this as far as we know at the moment?

    9. #38
      noikz's Avatar
      noikz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by gill07 View Post
      Okay great, so the problem has been identified as an exchange problem affecting Alsager/Kidsgrove/Goldenhill and Willaton right? I haven't spoke to CST yet so you say they are now aware right?

      So maintenance has been ordered and should be hopefully within 2 weeks max.

      Potentially ending our throughput issues?

      Is this as far as we know at the moment?
      This is as much as I know yeah, I think the site should have some kind of sticky to a) to save any new visitors who are on those exchanges wondering what's wrong and b) to get people who haven't noticed any problems to double check with a few speed tests.
      Dbox DM7020/Skystar HD + 1.1M Motor (57E-61W) | Dbox DM500 + 90CM Multi-LNB (13/16/19.2/28.2E) | SKY HD 500GB | SKY+ 250GB | Intel C2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.8Ghz | 8GB Geil | 148GB RAID0 Raptors + 4TB RAID5 Seagates | 8800GTX SLI | Dell 2405FPW

    10. #39
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by noikz View Post
      This is as much as I know yeah, I think the site should have some kind of sticky to a) to save any new visitors who are on those exchanges wondering what's wrong and b) to get people who haven't noticed any problems to double check with a few speed tests.
      I'd agree Noikz, any chance of this mods. And if the problem becomes wider maybe an article on the Homepage or something?

      Let me know how you get on with it Noikz, hope we get there soon.

    11. #40
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by gill07 View Post
      I'd agree Noikz, any chance of this mods.
      Added to service status

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/servi...exchanges.html

      With a request to read this thread.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 4 of 21 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION