Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Noise Margin 1-4db?

    This is a discussion on Noise Margin 1-4db? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The noise margin on my line often states that its between 1-4db. Now I was under the impression that this ...

    1. #1
      JohnSayce's Avatar
      JohnSayce is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broomhill Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Noise Margin 1-4db?

      The noise margin on my line often states that its between 1-4db. Now I was under the impression that this would trigger a resync. Quite often while displaying a low noise margin the line is perfectly usable but after about a day or the throughput drops to bellow 1.5meg. Browsing seems slower and video sites like youtube are totally unusable.

      The speed of my line normally syncs at about 14meg although I also have a cisco 877 to which I up'ed the noise margin by three decibels. The same problems seem to occur but take longer to become a nuisance.

      As a bit more background information: About a year ago there was a problem with my line in that the wire going from the pole to my house disconnected when blown in the wind. (On a side note sky and bt conducted tests on my line and said it was fine despite my line clearly hanging on by a thread so I'm not really hopefully any tests will turn up anything. They repaired this and my line connected at 16meg and was amazingly reliable.. But now it seems to be connecting at 14meg and eventually droping out. I wondered if this could be a problem related to dlm?

      Line Stats

      System Up Time: 01:37:39
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 109582 132772 0 5816 25078 01:35:16
      LAN 100M/Full 150619 134187 0 25964 6544 01:37:35
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 01:37:22
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14135 kbps 797 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 7.5 db
      Noise Margin 2 db 16 db

      Any thoughts? I'm doubtful its an internal wiring issue as I have redone all this myself and there is basically one extension using a brand new cable. Whats more it seems totally unrelated to the time of day although as I'm home in the evenings I do notice it a lot at these times.

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin 1-4db?

      Could you just try from the test socket, you never know

    4. #3
      JohnSayce's Avatar
      JohnSayce is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broomhill Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin 1-4db?

      Quote Originally Posted by googleme View Post
      Could you just try from the test socket, you never know
      System Up Time: 00:01:47
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 764 694 0 3090 11421 00:00:56
      LAN 100M/Full 999 1130 0 7307 2236 00:01:43
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15806 kbps 797 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 7.5 db
      Noise Margin 1 db 16 db

      Yep same problem.

    5. #4
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin 1-4db?

      Another throughput issue...

    6. #5
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin 1-4db?

      If theres been an issue with the outside line being blown off or nearly blown off then loose cabling there could be causing a lot of irritation on the line causing a lot of noise.

      Do you get noise on the LL phone?

      If no, you may need to call Cst to cap the line. That low Snr could cause a fair bit of problems causing a lot of error build up and is most likely why you are having a slow choppy connection.

    7. #6
      JohnSayce's Avatar
      JohnSayce is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broomhill Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin 1-4db?

      Well BT should have sorted that last time. If it was a physical problem with my line could I not get BT to fix it.

      The thing is as well I don't see that many errors on my cisco router or on the sky router. Is it typical that this could happen without errors being shown and a slow decrease in throughput over time?

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin 1-4db?

      Quote Originally Posted by gill07 View Post
      Another throughput issue...
      This is not a throughput issue, his line is dropping because his noise margin is low due to errors on the line.

    9. #8
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin 1-4db?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      This is not a throughput issue, his line is dropping because his noise margin is low due to errors on the line.
      Apologies, reply posted in wrong thread.

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Noise Margin 1-4db?

      Quote Originally Posted by gill07 View Post
      Apologies, reply posted in wrong thread.
      No need to apologise, I have just read another throughput issue here somewhere, it would be nice to get to the bottom of one of them so we can try to get them all sorted.

      I know how frustrated I would feel, I sync at 16Mb and if I could only download at a fraction af that I would pull out my hair!!! and I don't have that much anyway.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION