Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 42

    Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

    This is a discussion on Tried Everything...Need Help Please! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Been with Sky happily on the Max BB for about 12 months and got consistent speeds of about 15Mbps. However, ...

    1. #1
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      Been with Sky happily on the Max BB for about 12 months and got consistent speeds of about 15Mbps.

      However, at the start of December for some unknown reason the throughput of my line was severly affected, and now I am getting the equivalent of a 1Mb connection.

      The sync has stayed the same yet downloads are terrible. Downloading an individual file will never go higher than about 80kbps yet, I can have 4 or 5 running at one all downloading at 80kbps??

      I have spent numerous hours on the phone to Sky CST, used multiple PC's, and the problem is not resolved. I've used the test socket, they've changed exchange equipment, run line diagnostics and theoretically everything is fine...but it is NOT, at all.

      The only thing that has not been done is change ISP's, its asif it is a stuck profile but I know LLU Sky services don't have IP profiles, and it's not DLM as my sync would change and I have been a customer for 18 months.

      The question is, is it worth taking the final plunge and forking out 150 or so for an engineer to check the wiring (in some rare case that wiring was affecting just the throughput) and not the sync.

      Or shold I just go for a new ISP (Looking at 02 Broadband), could that solve the case?

      Anyone any ideas which could have so dramatically affected throughput on the line?

      Or should I just plump for the new ISP...My worry being though if that does not solve the problem, I am paying more money a month for a service which is equally as bad...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      Post your line stats man.

    4. #3
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      its no good going to o2 because you will still have the same problems...

      i dont think you will have to fork anything out if its a line problem...

    5. #4
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      Could it be a stuck LLU profile for example?

      + I'm just desperate for the quick conn I had a month ago, and the one I'm paying for back as have PS3 online for the kids, and do alot of networking in the house which is ultra-slow now.

      Now, if I ring up and speak to CST about the problem, are they able to dispatch a BT engineer free of charge to check the wiring or a line fault?

      What else could affect throughput so dramatically, + Line stats show exactly 0.004% errors. Also attenuation is 17db, and currently syncing at 16379kps. Stats are fine, and using V2 so simple stats are only viewable.

      Anyone any ideas of a solution?

    6. #5
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      PC wise what have you tried, firewalls off, different browser, safemode ? Sorry not to sure on the history, Safe mode is the big one.

    7. #6
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      umm sky might but who do you pay your line rental to?...you really need to phone your line provider.. eg BT..


      umm their is not alot you can do i really think this is a exchange problem as you have had a replacement router and that didnt work and you have tried everything possable..

      i personally think a pair switch at the exchange might solve your problem but this requires a engineer!..

      i totally understand your fustration but their isnt alot you personally can do... i really think you need a bt engineer desparately...

      have you asked neighbours about their connections... because it might be a street related thing? this has happen once before on here if i remember rightly... a guy had a throughput problem and it turned out most his street was the same!..

      hope ive helped as much as i possably can!!...

    8. #7
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      Unfortunately so, tried everything software wise. Tried all the steps listed but thanks

    9. #8
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      The op says they have changed exchange equipment, TPS I would of thought.

    10. #9
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      have sky tried regrading your line?...

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      I expect it would have been one of the first options taken since it doesn't cost anything to do.

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION