Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 42

    Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

    This is a discussion on Tried Everything...Need Help Please! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yeah, got the V2 Router as well, but that does the same....

    1. #31
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      Yeah, got the V2 Router as well, but that does the same.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      Its unlikely that both the routers are bad. The only other thing that I can think off is the DSLAM is messed up or the port you are connected is is bad.
      Bad news is the only people that can do anything about that would be sky, and that will need quite a lot of pushing in the right direction to get your pair changed.
      Basically you are going to need to tell them that you have connected your PC via ethernet to the router, have done many speed tests. You have re-installed XP, tried another PC, tried another router and all of this from the test socket, you are using filters and you changed them, you have no extensions on the line, and you are having no voice service problems. The maybe they will send out an engineer who would probably change the pairs.

    4. #33
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      An exchange problem then?

      Does anybody know if there are 'Stuck IP Profiles' on Sky, like BT.

    5. #34
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      DLM does do profiling, but not heard yet of it limiting throughput, it usually caps the line so you sync speed is lower.

    6. #35
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      Ahh, I've never heard of this problem either. With my sync being fine I'm assuming that rules out internal wiring?

      Looks like it's an exchange problem then? CST are calling back at 4-7pm (Hopefully), and will have to convince them to swap the pairs at the exchange then.

      If that doesn't solve it, is there anything left I could do?

      I mean changing ISP's might do nothing, then again could do something, looks like I should just pay for my own dedicated line

      Haha, 40Gb Broadband would be sweet, Imagine downloading at like 1.2Gbps

    7. #36
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      Quote Originally Posted by gill07 View Post
      Imagine downloading at like 1.2Gbps
      Somehow seems so far away.

      Changing ISP would have an effect as the would unplug your line from Sky's equipment to either BT DSLAM's or to another LLU providers, depending on who you move to.
      If its any help then persistence will eventually pay off.
      Last edited by naza911; 11-01-09 at 04:38 PM.

    8. #37
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      Okay, so the last steps left with Sky are to enquire about regrading the line (if that's not been done) and exchange work. Then if that doesn't work, the next step would have to be changing ISP's then?

    9. #38
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      Well explain the problem and try and get it sorted, before asking for the MAC code. I mean asking for you MAC code will lead them to ask why, explain again and they may well sort it.
      When your on the phone, it best no to try and tell them what they need to do. Just answer the questions as they come and steer them so they have very little to do, but call someone out to you.

    10. #39
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      Would an engineer be called out to the home, or be called out to perform maintenance at the exchange?

    11. #40
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Tried Everything...Need Help Please!

      Depends on where they think the fault is. If over the phone they clearly are trying to blame you then, if they do get to the stage of calling out an engineer then it will be to your home. If they believe that it is a problem at the exchange then they will send the engineer there.

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION