Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Would Changing ISP's Solve This Problem?

    This is a discussion on Would Changing ISP's Solve This Problem? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, had throughput issues for the good part of a month now, spent endless hours on the phone to ...

    1. #1
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Would Changing ISP's Solve This Problem?

      Hi all, had throughput issues for the good part of a month now, spent endless hours on the phone to Sky and CST to no avail, router has said it's synced at 16379kbps for the duration, and still only a throughput equivalent of a 1 or 2Mb connection..

      Have swapped routers and they have performed exchange work for me to no help, at the end of the tether because I pay for 16Mb because I need it for work, would moving to another ISP such as 02 Pro Home Broadband potentially solve this problem?

      Regards

      Gill07


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Would Changing ISP's Solve This Problem?

      I doubt changing ISP would help.

      Slow throughput compared to sync can be down to a number of reasons. In order of likelihood:

      • you are connecting wirelessly and have a poor quality connection (try wired)
      • you are using an overloaded test server (try Skyuser's)
      • your line has developed a fault (severe line noise) which is causing corrupt data which needs to be retransmitted (not likely as you have such a good sync - is your noise margin ~7db? - but see below)
      • your TCP/IP settings are incorrect (XP only, run TCPOptimizer. Not applicable to Vista)
      • you have a "benign" app running using bandwidth (e.g. Sky Player, BBCi etc)
      • someone else is using your bandwidth (e.g. someone on the LAN or rarely a wireless hijack)
      • you have malware on your system (run an on-line checker such as f-secure or Panda)
      • you're the first LLU customer to be throttled



      That's pretty much it - the first two must account for 80% of similar problems reported.

      However, your problems coincide with the Christmas period which often causes problems due to Christmas lights (not just yours, could be a neighbours, even streets away if the interference is next to where your line runs). If so then you may find the problem resolves itself very soon. I doubt that's it though as such interference would almost certainly depress your sync too unless you're very close to the exchange.

      If it is a simple wireless issue then I suppose there's a chance that a different router would improve your wireless performance but changing channels/router position with your current one would probably do more good.

      If you need your connection for work then Sky isn't the right service for you.
      Last edited by Saturday; 07-01-09 at 11:07 AM.

    4. #3
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would Changing ISP's Solve This Problem?

      Using a wired connection:

      This is what SkyUser shows.

      Test taken
      (up to) Download
      Speed (Kbps) Upload
      Speed (Kbps)
      07 January, 2009 10:20:12 1968 Kbps 581 Kbps
      18 December, 2008 08:06:17 1448 Kbps 604 Kbps
      09 August, 2008 11:05:22 12392 Kbps 566 Kbps

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Would Changing ISP's Solve This Problem?

      Not looking good

      You've excluded a wireless issue, speedtester problem, router and exchange. All I can suggest is working through the list.

      One other thing, do you have another PC/laptop you could use/borrow to rule out a problem with your PC?

      If you've eliminated all else then changing ISPs is all that's left.

    6. #5
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Would Changing ISP's Solve This Problem?

      Using wired, used diff. ethernet cables to eliminate that.

      Used laptop and also Desktop same result on both of these.

      Spoke to CST, used the test socket etc and they ordered some work at the exchange which has been done and still no change. Currently, I am on a rolling contract with Sky as the 12 months have expired, so if moving ISP's will sort it, fantastic, I'll do that.

      However, I don't want the issue of moving ISP's and then finding out that it's a serious issue and still getting slow speeds when I'm tied down into at least a new 12month contract with Be* or 02?

      Is it worth hiring BT to check all internal and external wiring first?

      Anyone know what that would cost though?

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Would Changing ISP's Solve This Problem?

      Have you eliminated the other things too?

      For Be unlimited and Be pro products there's only a 3 month rolling commitment.

      The minimum charge by BT is typically around the 130 mark (2 hours).

      I can't see your low throughput compared to sync being a line issue to be honest. If it's not one of the things in the list then its an equipment (or maybe profile) fault.
      Last edited by Saturday; 08-01-09 at 12:43 AM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION