Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Router dropping connection

    This is a discussion on Router dropping connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Aha! I seems I understand more than I give myself credit for! The only times when I have turned the ...

    1. #11
      Andrew's Avatar
      Andrew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Feltham LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Feltham
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Aha! I seems I understand more than I give myself credit for!

      The only times when I have turned the router off are when I've had no connection at all.

      I will always try to reboot through the diagnostics screen first, but on a couple of occasions I have had no choice to to disconnect the power supply.

      I'll try the rebooting procedure suggested in the Router Freeze thread by dingdong tonight at 8 and see how I get on.

      Just to clarify dingdong, should I reboot at 8 and then do the speedtests and whatnot for an hour and a half and then reboot again, or just reboot at the end of the time (930)?

      Thanks for the help.

      Andrew.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Probably be best at 9pm - that when it seems to be at its worse (well for me anyway)

    4. #13
      Andrew's Avatar
      Andrew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Feltham LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Feltham
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sorry to be thick!

      Reboot at 9 and then again 90 minutes later? Or just 9 and use it for the 90 mins before then?

      Andrew

    5. #14
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I think just one reboot at 9 should be enough

    6. #15
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Try not rebooting first and see how bad it gets and when then you will have an idea of the times, but in all honesty you really shouldn't have to reboot at all or am I alone in not having to do this.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #16
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      My router does not reboot on it own - all that happens my speed drops. Others have said the same.


      Rebooting through the router interface does no harm to your router anyway or even powering off and restarting 20 secs later - it is only bad if it has time to cool down.

    8. #17
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I know that it just seems an odd routine to have to go through all the time
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #18
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      tell me about it

    10. #19
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      In your case dingdong I think the BT faceplate could be causing you problems as well and especially if its an old one
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    11. #20
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It is about 6 month old and was fitted by BT. It did add about 1MB sync speed with my old isp, and anyway i don't think it has anything to do with that as my old router works just fine.

      It is the netgear that my system/line doesn't like.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION