Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 36

    Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

    This is a discussion on Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, Anybody know if there are any outages this evening in the Norfolk area? or in the broader sky ...

    1. #1
      g0fhm's Avatar
      g0fhm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Downham Market - Non LLU
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited - migrated from Sky (dis)Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      Hi Guys,

      Anybody know if there are any outages this evening in the Norfolk area? or in the broader sky network?

      The router states we are connected at 5728, but on speedtest.net, we are only hitting 2183 tops on download.

      Even webpages would be quicker coming by dial up!!

      The router has been rebooted a good few times, but to no avail.

      If 2183 is the new "evening norm" then we will be ringing for our PAC code.....

      :-)

      J


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      Need router stats.

      Oh, it's a MAC code.

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      Speed test sites are unreliable at the best of times, especially so during busy periods such as evenings. Even at 2183 thats nearly 39 times faster than dial up. Some router stats would help make a more informed analysis.


    5. #4
      g0fhm's Avatar
      g0fhm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Downham Market - Non LLU
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited - migrated from Sky (dis)Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      Our router is connected at 5727 down and 448 up

      Attenuation 19db Down, 11db up

      Noise margin 6db Down, 23db upstream.

      And it has been rebooted countless times this evening, and even reset!

      Yes, speedtest.net can be flaky at the best of times etc etc. But when NVIDIA drivers come down normally at 500K+ per second (as they did this afternoon), and tonight they were coming at 67K/s, and various other known "fast" download sources were no better. It took nearly 15 minutes to install flashplayer onto a PC that I have just built and am in the process of setting up!

      Just checked speedtest.net again, and we're now down to 1932bps. That's the best speed, with using a server in Germany!

      This is how our last ISP (Orange) went, before we jumped and came to Sky. The wireless is picking up quite a few BT Home Hubs in the area.... I blame them personally, as if people are using them for TV, they are supping our bandwidth :-)

      Oh, yes, I know its MAC... I got a new mobile for xmas, and I still have PAC on the brain, as I had a battle with a mobile provider, who were doing everything in their power to stop me from jumping ship.... a quick threat with OFCOMedy did the trick though!

      J
      Last edited by g0fhm; 06-01-09 at 10:18 PM.

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      @micmac
      Firstly have aread of this.
      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained
      You will see from this that with your attenuation the best you can expect is @4500.
      The fact that you have no mastersocket and that you mention the "first" socket suggests you may have problems with internal wiring.
      Now have a read of this thread.
      Cabling and faceplate help
      And in particular.
      Terminology
      The ring wire is often a cause of excess noise and improvements can be seen by removing it.

      @g0fhm - wireless then, try thernet cable to see what that gives, I bet its an improvement. If you have to stay with wireless try different channels until you find one thats better. All those neighbours may be on the same or nearby channel as you clogging up the airways.
      Last edited by dholdi; 06-01-09 at 10:23 PM.


    7. #6
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      Quote Originally Posted by g0fhm View Post
      448 up
      Connect package, you going through traffic shaping by the sounds of things

    8. #7
      g0fhm's Avatar
      g0fhm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Downham Market - Non LLU
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited - migrated from Sky (dis)Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      3 of the PC's on the network at home ARE hard wired... including this one!

      I generally only turn the wireless on, when I need to use it.... more secure that way!

      I'm using the one I'm in the process of building on a USB wireless dongle, and there isnt a hell of a lot of difference..... maybe cos it's only a few feet from the router!!

      I'll bet that at round 23.00 things will pick up again, as and when people start flicking switches, and going to bed......

      Another thing that really gets on my pip (totally unrelated to speed issues) is that our local Exchange (Downham Market - 01366), for some reason does not appear to have had it's local loop unbundled.... it's a big town (bigger than some that have LLU).. and for some reason, we can never get on any of the "Free" ADSL services (TalkTalk for instance), all have to be paid for.... contrary to what Sky told us when we signed up, and found later that we were being charged for broadband!! What did they give us?? a 40 credit!!

      Right rant over :-)

      J

    9. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      Well in that case you are not on mid, as your profile states, but connect.
      This is a rebadged BT product and traffic shaping at peak times is employed.


    10. #9
      g0fhm's Avatar
      g0fhm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Downham Market - Non LLU
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited - migrated from Sky (dis)Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      So basically, we are being throttled at peak times, and not getting the speeds that we are paying 20/month for? Is that it? lol

    11. #10
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      To be blunt yes your getting throttled. If you where on bt's equipment with any other ISP you would get the same.

      Maybe worth looking at netmeter to look at your useage.

      There are one or two of us looking at work around or fixes to this problem..... No 100% fixes yet though

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION