Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 36

    Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

    This is a discussion on Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks for that, will have a ring, and ask them.... also, I've been reading a lot about DLM . We ...

    1. #21
      g0fhm's Avatar
      g0fhm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Downham Market - Non LLU
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited - migrated from Sky (dis)Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      Thanks for that, will have a ring, and ask them.... also, I've been reading a lot about DLM. We have had a sync of 8128k for the last couple of years, and now we are getting bumped about anywhere between 4 & high 5's.

      Our connection was always rock solid at 8128, never any dropouts etc with our previous ISP.

      Just done the 17070 quiet line test, nothing unusual to report there either.

      Would we be justified in asking Tech to lift the DLM and let us sync at 8128?

      I know all about noise/attenuation and how noise is generated/propagated etc, as I'm a radio Ham, and get plagued by those sorts of things (Plasma TV's, noisy SM PSU's etc) on a daily basis when I'm trying to copy a weak signal, and next door turn on their stupid inch plasma halfway through.......

      Anyway, from a radio point of view, thank god BPL (Broadband Over Power Line) hasnt caught on here! (yet?).

      I'm getting quite disillusioned with the Sky/BT pairing... and just cant wait to be LLU'd now, so I can get a far better service than we are currently paying for!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      BT do run DLM, theyve since given it a different acronym but cant think what its called at the moment.
      Last edited by dholdi; 06-01-09 at 11:54 PM.


    4. #23
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      HI dholdi
      Beat me to it but is called Rambo

    5. #24
      g0fhm's Avatar
      g0fhm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Downham Market - Non LLU
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited - migrated from Sky (dis)Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      Yes, but surely it's SKY that are implementing the DLM?

      Oh hang on, so your saying that Sky only implement DLM on their own LLU customers? so we are at the mercy of BT and BT alone?

      I'd like to know why our sync suddenly dropped though when we had a rock solid 8128 before, and it varies quite a bit....

      I've just seen that the Sky Max package is only 10/month where Connect is 17/month... whats the difference there then? Surely a higher speed would warrant more monthly dosh? or is that available only to LLU customers?

      Thanks,

      J

    6. #25
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      Quote Originally Posted by g0fhm View Post
      Yes, but surely it's SKY that are implementing the DLM?

      Oh hang on, so your saying that Sky only implement DLM on their own LLU customers? so we are at the mercy of BT and BT alone?
      Yes and no - Throttling?

      Quote Originally Posted by g0fhm View Post

      I'd like to know why our sync suddenly dropped though when we had a rock solid 8128 before, and it varies quite a bit....
      That will be down to BT's DLM process I would have thought.

      Quote Originally Posted by g0fhm View Post

      I've just seen that the Sky Max package is only 10/month where Connect is 17/month... whats the difference there then? Surely a higher speed would warrant more monthly dosh? or is that available only to LLU customers?

      Thanks,

      J
      Yep fraid so, Its Skys equipment etc so I guess they can save by not having to pay bt anything apart from space rental in the exchange.


    7. #26
      g0fhm's Avatar
      g0fhm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Downham Market - Non LLU
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited - migrated from Sky (dis)Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ah, so it's BT that are bandwidth pinching with their DLM then... to keep their "BT Vision" etc customers happy, at the expense of others :-) I've never been a fan of BT (Can't you tell?), and the quicker we get LLU, the better! Just tried to ring O2 to see if they have a timetable for our exchange.... but they only work part time!! :-)

      PS, just done another speed test, and we are back up to 4680 with a 5728 sync, at 23.15.......

      A friend was with AOL, and he was getting capped something rotten, down to 512k on a Sunday night... he's now with O2, on 16meg... and he lives in a village that has it's own exchange that runs off the back of a town exchange, so there is hope!!

      J
      Last edited by Saturday; 07-01-09 at 12:25 AM. Reason: Merged two consecutive posts - please edit/add to the first rather than add another

    8. #27
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      Sky buy Connect from BT and BT would be very happy to sell them all the bandwidth they wanted. Sky can't afford that so in reality it is BT/Sky controlling the bandwidth used to within what Sky has bought.

      Don't understand what you mean about O2 working part time - they're 24/7
      Last edited by Saturday; 07-01-09 at 12:46 AM.

    9. #28
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      g0fhm
      If Rate Adaptive Management Box Rambo for short. Really screws you line up ring sky and when you get passed tier1on to CST you can ask them to re-profile your line

    10. #29
      g0fhm's Avatar
      g0fhm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Downham Market - Non LLU
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited - migrated from Sky (dis)Connect
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Don't understand what you mean about O2 working part time - they're 24/7
      Just rang them on the 08000 number on their website, and was informed by the recording, that they pack up and got home at 9 of an evening..... Oh well, will ring them tomorrow!!

      Will get she who must be obeyed to ring sky, and ask them to reprofile the line... and see what happens!

      Thanks all!

      James
      Last edited by Saturday; 07-01-09 at 12:38 AM. Reason: Fixed broken quote

    11. #30
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Any reason why we are only hitting 2.1Mb/s??

      Oh - maybe you called a sales number? The CS number is definitely 24/7 (also a free 0800 number, UK based agents and usually answered in 3 rings!).

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION