Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Messy Wiring

    This is a discussion on Messy Wiring within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You should get around 5-6Mb according to your stats. Check for yourself here:- Sky User - Help and Support for ...

    1. #11
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Messy Wiring

      You should get around 5-6Mb according to your stats.

      Check for yourself here:- Sky User - Help and Support for Sky TV and Sky Broadband


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Messy Wiring

      wow 5-6Mb aha
      we have old wiring, so i reckon not so fast
      oh and we have this junction box inside, where two cables run off from it,
      one goes to the extension, and the other goes to the master
      the thing is the extenison is only a metre from the junction box, so which is best for me to connect my modem to?

    4. #13
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Messy Wiring

      HI, I phoned sky

      they said the best they could do was :

      System Up Time: 00:06:59
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1058 1191 0 737 2510 00:05:38
      LAN 100M/Full 1120 0 0 345 0 00:06:55
      WLAN 11M/54M 1888 2632 0 2862 1024 00:06:42
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 857 kbps 382 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49 db 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 19 db

      The problem is my internet turns off after like 5 mins of it being connected

      What's wrong with it now?

    5. #14
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Messy Wiring

      did you say your on a extension if so have you tryed your master socket?

      if your not on extension then their is a wiring problem and you need to phone BT

      your still capped i think but this must be due to you having a wiring problem

    6. #15
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Messy Wiring

      yeah but our phone is with post office
      I understand it's BT's line but should I phone postoffice?

    7. #16
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Messy Wiring

      Quote Originally Posted by James C View Post
      yeah but our phone is with post office
      I understand it's BT's line but should I phone postoffice?
      who ever you pay your line rental to you should call so in your case you should call post office dont mention Broadband... just say to them you have a Crackly Line on Voice calls...

    8. #17
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Messy Wiring

      Thanks

      On saturday I'll give them a call

      the thing is I know exactly what to do with the wiring

      It's just its before the master box so if i screw it up well the dreaded BT bill will come and theres a good 150 gone

    9. #18
      mickmac2005's Avatar
      mickmac2005 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Messy Wiring

      Faulty Wiring .......I had the same problem with mine. I dont have a bt master socket but i managed to locate the first main line into the house. This had a loop on which fed the rest of the house. I Disconected it tonight and managed to double my speed after months of misery. I only have the one twin socket now but with my router and my 2 digtal phones ( only 1 connects to the phone line ) i only need a twin.
      Last edited by mickmac2005; 07-01-09 at 11:05 PM.

    10. #19
      James C's Avatar
      James C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Messy Wiring

      hmm after phoning sky and being told i definately can't get any more than 800kb
      then how can i get:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1019 kbps 379 kbps
      Line Attenuation 48 db 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 3 db 19 db

      I guess that's why my internet disconnects sometimes with that low noise margin ahh well my internet speeds have doubled so I'm happy

    11. #20
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Messy Wiring

      still defo a problem their and im sticking to what i think it is and this is a wiring issue seeing as you should be hitting 5mb easy...

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION