Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Slow downstream speed after having good speed

    This is a discussion on Slow downstream speed after having good speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I recently posted a thread about my broadband speed going up and down and routing resetting ect, after ...

    1. #1
      Bunn's Avatar
      Bunn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stony stratford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Slow downstream speed after having good speed

      Hi all, I recently posted a thread about my broadband speed going up and down and routing resetting ect, after been on the phone to sky a few times, they have dropped my speed down to 1mb and it seems to be stable now even tho i had 1.7mbs for nearly 2 years they say maybe my line is degrading cause every time they put my speed up my router resets then goes to a speed of 480k and sometimes 700k then needs a reboot to get it back to its normal speed, since they have put it to a 1mb it seems ok but could this be down to my line?

      Also my exchange which is 8km away is due for its 21cn wbc by end of march would this help my area get better broadband speeds thanks all


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow downstream speed after having good speed

      no it won't, 21CN is BT offering up to 24Mbps BB - pretty much what ISPs offering LLU have been doing for years...

      the 8KM distance is your downfall...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Bunn's Avatar
      Bunn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stony stratford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Slow downstream speed after having good speed

      so do you think the speed droping and cut outs is down to a degrading line? Thats what the sky tec guy said, seems strange that i had just under 2mb for nearly 2 years with no problem

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slow downstream speed after having good speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Bunn View Post
      so do you think the speed droping and cut outs is down to a degrading line? Thats what the sky tec guy said, seems strange that i had just under 2mb for nearly 2 years with no problem
      Possibily, You should ensure that everything your end is up to spec, the majority of cases where speed starts to decrease seem to be the internal side of the wiring.

      If you don't have one, fit a NTE5 master socket, connect that with a filtered faceplate with the router into it and you will have the best case senario you can for your connection.

      Then you can investigate further, do a quiet line test, use a corded phone and dial one number and listen, you should hear no crackles or pops on the line just a faint hum in the background. If you do hear anything, ring BT and tell them you have noise on the line, do not mention broadband, just the voice line, you can tell the engineer when he is their about the broadband once you have filled him up with tea, coffe and bacon buttys.

      But first of all get your internal wiring up to spec.

    6. #5
      Bunn's Avatar
      Bunn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stony stratford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Slow downstream speed after having good speed

      My line rental is threw sky now would they still do the job? i started having this problem since i changed my line rental to sky, but cant see that being, i think i have a nte5 socket its been in the test socket for a few days while sky been checking my speed and stats

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slow downstream speed after having good speed

      The test socket is the best way to check, if your stats are from there then you will not see any better ones from elsewhere.

      Have you done a quiet line test (press a number and listen)

      The problem with Sky line rental seems to be getting them to get BT out, they don't seem to encourage it.

    8. #7
      Bunn's Avatar
      Bunn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stony stratford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Slow downstream speed after having good speed

      yeah it sems fine at the mo but i have had times where its been quite hissy but not ttried on a corded phone yet

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION